Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama: Tutorial - DRA2045: Finding & using library resources: Where should I look? Library search

 

 

Once you have decided the type of research materials you want to work with, you can choose the best research tool to help you find that material.

As a university student you should be using high quality academic sources of information. Don't rely on using Google!*

The two library research tools that will help you find quality primary and secondary materials are:

  1. Library Search
  2.  A-Z database list.

This section will look at Library Search.

Explore the different sections then complete the Library Search activity

Using Library Search

Library Search will find print and electronic books and journals on the library catalogue. In addition, you can search simultaneously across a range of full text resources to discover individual journal articles, research papers, book chapters, and more. 

Over 50% of our library collection is now in digital format. 

Browsing the library shelves can be useful but you'll miss a substantial part of the library collections if you rely on this approach alone.

Use Library Search:
- To search for specific books

- To search for specific journal titles

- To find full text journal articles

- To find conference papers, reports and other sources of information

- To research a new topic when you are unsure where to start

Articles + more is the default option when you carry out a Library Search.

However, it shows everything held within Library Search.

To just show results that are journal articles click on the Academic Journals option in the Refine By options.

You can search for particular journal titles in Library Search.

1. Choose the Catalogue tab.

2. Click on the journal title to open the record

3. Click on the hyperlinked text to access the journal

4. Once in the journal, you can browse the different issues or search within the journal series using keywords.

Articles + more is the default option when you carry out a Library Search.

To just show books and journal titles, click on the Catalogue tab

You may want to look at particular journals for your research. Spend a few minutes exploring these journals.

Recommended journals

The following journals are particularly recommended for this project as they focus specifically on the subject of arts and health.

Journal of Applied Arts and Health

The Journal of Applied Arts and Health covers the interdisciplinary field of arts in healthcare and health promotion. Its coverage includes the use of arts in physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, occupational, social and community health.

Research in Drama Education (RiDE)

RiDE: The Journal of Applied Theatre and Performance is an international peer-reviewed journal covering research into drama and theatre conducted in community, educational, developmental and therapeutic contexts. Contributions are drawn from a range of people involved in drama and theatre from around the world.

Arts and Health

Arts & Health provides a pioneering international forum for the publication of research, policy and best practice within the interdisciplinary field of arts and health. This fast-emerging field has developed in response to international interest regarding the multifarious ways in which the arts contribute to health, wellbeing, social inclusion and healthcare practice across a range of settings.

Drama Therapy

Dramatherapy is a peer reviewed journal of the British Association of Dramatherapists. It covers theory, practice and research in the field of Dramatherapy and the related disciplines of creative arts therapies, theatre, psychotherapy, performance, movement, and story work.

These journals cover the wider fields of Drama and Performance. However, they are worth looking at as they may contain useful information relating to your topic of research:

A list of Drama and Performance journals that can be accessed via Library Search can be found here.

Contact Us