Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama: Tutorial - DRA2045: Finding & using library resources: Research databases

 
For this module, it will be necessary to look at the global literature written on your topic of research.

The following databases are multidisciplinary in coverage but they will contain drama and performing arts content.

While they may look different in layout, many of these databases contain similar similar search functionality, allowing you to easily carry out complex searches.

These databases contain journal articles and other scholarly publications.

A full list of databases can be found in the A to Z Database List.

JSTOR

​JSTOR is a multidisciplinary research database of full text journals and e-books in all subject areas including drama. The content includes some primary sources.

JSTOR is an archive with material only being uploaded periodically. The very latest journal articles and books will not be found in this database. However, it is a good source for older material.

Humanities International Complete

Humanities International Complete provides comprehensive coverage of worldwide humanities scholarly literature with full-text content.

Tip: You can enter refine options to focus your search from this Search page

Web of Science

Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas, including drama, theatre, healthcare etc.

Top Tip:
This is an index database which means that it does not contain full text. However, content that we subscribe to  can be accessed via links.

Humanities Index

Humanities Index is an international bibliographic index of scholarly research
across the humanities. Records include journals, reports, newspapers, conference reports  and other content from 1962 onwards.

Find out more here.

NOTE: As a bibliographic index, this database contains records of scholarly material, not necessarily the full text content itself (although many records are linked to full-text).

Basic search option

Advanced Search option

Project Muse

Project Muse provides full text versions of scholarly journals and books from many leading University presses and Scholarly Societies, covering the humanities and social sciences. Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. 

Note: Not all content is subscribed to by the University of Exeter library.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International contains content for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications 

(journal articles, books, translations and dissertations) from the early 20th century to the present.

This collection is primarily an index of citation details, with access to full text via the Library Collections.

Activity: Tutorial

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us