LibGuides: Drama DRA2045: Finding &amp; using library resources: Performance and film databases

Performance Databases

Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus
About Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Filmed productions, documentaries, interviews and criticism.

Digital Theatre Plus features:

- Plays and productions – Video and audio performances of classical and contemporary theatre, radio plays, dance and opera
- Practice and practitioners – interviews and discussion of theatre
- Theory and criticism – the academic resources exploring literary and dramatic texts, theatre practice and techniques

Digital Theatre Plus is a good source for finding plays and filmed performances.

Watch the video below to find more about this collection.

Exeter Digital Archives

Exeter Digital Archives This link opens in a new window Search across the Exeter Digital Archives collection. Film and video collection on contemporary performance practice.
Access via VPN if off-campus

Exeter Digital Archives allows you to search across the Exeter Digital Archives collection. This is a film and video collection on contemporary performance practice.

The archive includes the following collections:

Drama Online

Drama Online This link opens in a new window Full text plays, filmed live performance, interviews, study guides, theatre craft and performance context and criticism. The Core Collection includes Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and Arden collection of full text plays and associated commentaries. The National Theatre Collection, Screen Online and LA Works collections can be accessed from here.

Drama Online includes over 1500 full text playscripts from major playwrights (including Shakespeare, Ibsen, Brecht, Stoppard etc) as well as critical interpretations and analysis.

Access is available to the CORE COLLECTION ONLY of Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and Arden full text plays and associated commentaries.

Watch this video to find out more about the Drama Online collection.

Globe on Screen

Globe on Screen (Collection 1 and 2) This link opens in a new window A collection of Shakespeare’s Globe Stage productions recorded live at the Globe in high definition and surround sound. Use it to access critically acclaimed performances from leading actors, providing performance and production insights into Shakespeare’s works.

A collection of Shakespeare’s Globe Stage productions recorded live at the Globe between 2008-2015.

Film & TV Databases

BFI Screenonline

BFI Screenonline This link opens in a new window
Video, images, interviews and commentary on British film and television
Please note the Screenonline platform was maintained until 2014, but is no longer active. There is no access to any of the video clips, only the editorial text content.

On Campus access only due to licence restrictions..

Kanopy

Kanopy This link opens in a new window Online video streaming platform. Includes critically-acclaimed movies, inspiring documentaries, award-winning foreign films and more. Films are discoverable via Library Search.

Kanopy provides access to 30 thousand films and can be streamed on any device

Search by subject or keyword.

On the Boards TV

On the Boards TV This link opens in a new window
OntheBoards.tv delivers full-length contemporary performance films