Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creativity: Innovation & Business Strategy: Dissertation research: Key databases

Online support to assist with planning and conducting your dissertation research

 

See the guidance below for help with searching the key research databases.

Humanities International Complete

An index to scholarly literature in the Humanities from around the world, including film studies publications. Some content is full-text.

Use Humanities International Complete to find secondary critical sources.

View the tutorial to find out how to search this database.

Project Muse

Project Muse contains full text versions of academic journals and books covering the humanities and social sciences. 

Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. Table of contents access is freely available for all non subscribed material.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a valuable research resource for secondary resources.  You can use it to search and find the full text of published books and journal articles.

Use the How to Search JSTOR LibGuide for an introduction to the service, or take a look at JSTOR's Vimeo channel for instructional videos.

Top Tip: Use the Advanced search option if you want to focus your searching to a particular subject area.

 

You an enter a quick search into the quick search box on the JSTOR home page, for example:

anthropology and "human diversity"

 

Just click on an item to view it and explore it in more detail

 

You can refine your search results from the Refine Results options on the left of your search results.

You may want to refine your results if you find too many as a result of your initial search.

For example, you can search within results or limit by  content type (books or journals), date of publication or subject

The advanced search allows you to be more targeted with your research and apply limits/filters to your search before you begin.

For example, you can add multiple search terms, specify the proximity of your search terms and also select a discipline, e.g. Anthropology, so that you filter out material from other subject disciplines.

 

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography lists books and journal articles covering scholarship in these areas:

  • Literature from all over the world
  • Folklore: folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems
  • Language and linguistics
  • Literary theory and criticism
  • Dramatic arts: film, radio, television and theatre
  • History of printing and publishing
  • Teaching of language, literature, rhetoric and composition at college level (from 1998 onwards)

The MLA provide short tutorial videos to help you use the resource. 

There are more tutorials available at https://www.mla.org/Publications/MLA-International-Bibliography/Tutorial-Videos

 

Web of Science

Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas.

You can use it to discover the global literature on a wide range of topics.  It is not a full text database, but you can use it to discover published material and follow links through to discover the full text available on other services.

Web of Science search image

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us