Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sports Science: Finding full text articles

Sometimes you may know the article you are looking for but don't know where to find the full text. Searching for the journal title on Library Search allows you to quickly check if the Library has access to the journal and if the full text of the article you need is available. 

Using Library Search to find journals

For example if you were looking for the journal Research in Sports Medicine you would retrieve the following:

              

In this example for the Research in Sports Medicine you can see we have online access which is provided by two different options:

  • current access via Taylor & Francis Online
  • archive access via Taylor & Francis Backfile

You will often find that journal coverage is split across journal and archive services.Remember you will need the year, volume / issue and page numbers to help you quickly locate the article you need.

Finding full text for an article reference example

Imagine you are looking for this article:

Horenstein, A., et al. (2019) Sleep quality and treatment of social anxiety disorder, Anxiety, Stress & Coping, 32:4, 387-398.

1. Use Library Search to search for the journal's title: Anxiety, stress and coping. This will show you if we have subscribed to online access.

2. Click on the "available online" link to show you the access options, then click on the date link below. This will open the publisher / providers site and allow you to browse to the article required.

3. You can find the article using the date, volume, and issue number of the article's reference e.g. 2019, vol. 32 Iss. 4. Open the relevant issue and scroll down the list of article to find the one you need. Then click on the PDF to access the full text.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us