You may need to consult a wider range of databases, depending on your research topic. See the recommended resources for the following subject areas:
Use Nielsen BookScan to access sales statistics for the UK consumer book market. All students on the MA Publishing programme will be able to login to this resource.
You will need to have the Microsoft Authenticator App installed. Click on the link above and then follow steps 5-9 of the instructions here.
Please contact sarah.jones@exeter.ac.uk if you have any questions or need help accessing the resource.
Databases provide access to scholarly research, including journal articles, conference proceedings and books.
Key research databases for publishing include:
JSTOR is a valuable research resource for secondary resources. You can use it to search and find the full text of published books and journal articles.
Use the How to Search JSTOR LibGuide for an introduction to the service, or take a look at JSTOR's Vimeo channel for instructional videos.
You an enter a quick search into the quick search box on the JSTOR home page, for example:
anthropology and "human diversity"
Just click on an item to view it and explore it in more detail
You can refine your search results from the Refine Results options on the left of your search results.
You may want to refine your results if you find too many as a result of your initial search.
For example, you can search within results or limit by content type (books or journals), date of publication or subject
The advanced search allows you to be more targeted with your research and apply limits/filters to your search before you begin.
For example, you can add multiple search terms, specify the proximity of your search terms and also select a discipline, e.g. Anthropology, so that you filter out material from other subject disciplines.
Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas.
You can use it to discover the global literature on a wide range of topics. It is not a full text database, but you can use it to discover published material and follow links through to discover the full text available on other services.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
