LibGuides: Global and planetary health: Searching for evidence

Using Library Search to find articles on planetary health

Library Search

Use Library Search to find planetary health or global health related book and journal content from a range of full text resources.

You can search for broad topics like planetary health and browse by date to see the latest publications, or run more focused searches on themes of topic relating to these issues.

Here are some sample searches - but try some some of your own.

environment AND health

environmental damage AND health

global warming AND illness

water-borne infections AND climate

Top Tip! Refine your search results to online results only whilst you are researching away from the Library.

Useful research databases

Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research. Guidance on searching Medline (PubMed) is available here.
Global Health This link opens in a new window Literature relating to global public health issues. Useful for research into national and international public health topics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window An index to scholarly literature in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences, including: animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry, veterinary medicine, aspects of human health, human nutrition, rural development, leisure and tourism and the management and conservation of natural resources.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window Biomedical and pharmacological research database. Coverage 1974- present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Literature relating to human beings and the environment.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Full text database covering literature across geography, environmental sciences, renewable energy and urban planning and policy.

Google Scholar

Run the search above to use Google Scholar to find commentary on planetary or global health.

Try some additional searches on themes that interest you such as tropical forest loss or water demand.

Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and preprint repositories.

Check out the Library Guide on Making the Most of Google Scholar for additional guidance