LibGuides: Law Testimony and Trauma Library Research Guide: News sources

News sources are likely to be invaluable research sources for your project. They may include:

commentary on legal proceedings or newspaper reporting of trials
interviews with victims, survivors, affected local communities
discussions on impact or the need for reform

If you are following a legal case that is not formally reported then the daily newspaper coverage of the trial may be the only way for you to examine the proceedings and testimony.

The University has access to a vast collection of news sources. Use the News Sources LibGuide to see what is available and choose a relevant database for searching.

Consider the following issues when you are deciding which databases to search

Dates : You may need current and/or archive news sources depending on your project sources
Range of sources: You may need to use multiple newspaper titles or databases to fully expolore the issues in your project
Format: Some news is only available in text form, others exactly as published in print or in online newspaper format. These give differing research experiences. When you can view an article as a reproduction of the printed paper with photographs, images and other issues for that day, you can get a feel for the importance of your issue and see what other events were occurring in the news at the same time. The reproduction versions tend to be available for newspaper archives. Current new articles are often only available in text format only.
Coverage: You may need local, national or global news sources, depending on your topic. News sources local to your proceedings may well publish more prolifically than national news sources on particular topics.

Recommended Resources

Use the News Sources LibGuide to discover all the available news content. The following are a selection of large news collections for you to explore.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers. Most titles are updated daily and some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s. OCR text content. Date coverage: Late 20th century - current
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Search for news content across from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications. OCR text content. Date coverage: Late 20th century - current
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content plus recent archives featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes coverage from: the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of American local and regional newspapers. OCR text content. Date coverage: 1980-current
Social History Archive- Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of historical British & Irish newspapers online and the official source for the British Library’s newspaper holdings. Search for UK, regional and local newspapers. This collection will contain the same newspapers as the British Newspaper Archive when everything has fully migrated. Date range: 1700 to the 2000s.