EndNote Web is a web-based version of the EndNote application. You can use it to collect references anywhere you are logged on to the Internet and sync it with your desktop version. You can set up an account via the Sync options in Endnote 25 Desktop.
1. In EndNote, go to the Edit menu (or EndNote menu on the macOS) and select Preference > Sync Preferences.
2. Click the Enable Sync button to go to the EndNote online Login dialog.
3. Click the Sign Up button to begin the registration and activation process. Follow the on-screen instructions to complete your signup. Be sure to note your login and password, as you will need these to log in to the new EndNote Web: https://web.endnote.com/login
Library Instruction Manuals
The Library team have produced the following manuals on downloading and using Endnote:
External Support
For information and support on using EndNote from Clarivate, the company that produces Endnote, see the below link:
You can also use the online training calendar to book on to forthcoming courses which are offered online by Endnote training experts. For technical support, please contact Exeter IT.
EndNote is a software package that enables you to compile and manage your references, and to use them to automatically create in-text citations and bibliographies as you work on your Word documents.
There are a number of different versions of Endnote
EndNote desktop includes thousands of referencing styles, including all the major referencing systems such as Harvard and MLA, and the preferred styles for the leading academic journals. It is therefore very easy to create citations and bibliographies in the correct style for your purposes. EndNote desktop is installed on the public cluster PCs across our campuses. It is covered by the University’s EndNote Site Licence, which allows installation of the software on any University-owned PC at no further charge per copy.
Students and staff can download a 'loan' of EndNote desktop on their personal computers via the Exeter IT – Home Software Hub http://exeter.onthehub.com/. In the Home Software hub, you'll need to search for Endnote for it to appear as an option.
Copy the Product Key provided, which you will need to enter when you complete the download.
For University owned computers, install Endnote via the Company Portal for Windows PCs:
https://www.exeter.ac.uk/departments/it/new/companyportal/.
1) Download the Endnote Click plug-in
Endnote Click is a browser plug-in that you can download to help you access full text articles and store PDFs in your Endnote Library. It will also make it easier to see what articles you can access in full-text when searching on PubMed and Web of Science.
Use the getting started in two minutes guide for more information.
2) Try searching for full-text PDFs while on campus
EndNote can attempt to locate full text files from these sources on the Web (works best on campus). If found, EndNote downloads and attaches the files to the references.
This will save you some time but be aware that it will find some but not all full text that you are entitled to. You should use the Library Search service to check whether you have access to a particular book or journal titles, if Endnote is unable to retrieve full text for you.
If you are on campus, you can then select references and choose the Find Full Text option. Either select records and then right click and choose Find Full Text, or highlight records and choose References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text
3) Try searching for PDFs off campus using VPN
For this function to work effectively off campus, you need to use VPN. If you are a registered user of the University IT facilities, a Virtual Private Network (VPN) connection will allow you to access the University network from home or from any other location with an internet connection.
Follow the online guidance in order to set up VPN access.
You must ensure you connect via VPN before asking Endnote to Find Full text.
Existing referencing styles in Endnote may not always be exactly the same as the versions of those styles used at the University of Exeter. However, you can edit styles in Endnote to more closely match your requirements.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
