Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Searching for scientific information: Medical Sciences: 6. Research databases

When you have a search strategy you can move on to consider where you might find evidence to answer your question. Research databases are a good place to find scholarly evidence.

The activity in this section will guide you through applying a search across TRIP database and Medline (Ovid). 

You can learn more about research databases and how they can be used in your research here. 

There are many other databases you may like to consider searching as part of your research. It is important that you consider a range of sources in the search process as you are unlikely to find the information you need on one source alone. Details of all of the databases you can access are available through the A-Z databases list. Filter by subject 'Medical sciences' to limit to the key resources in your discipline.

 

Click here to access interactive tutorial

Information sources

TRIP database is a clinical search engine, that has been designed to help you find evidence-based content quickly. TRIP will help you identify research evidence, as well as images, videos and patient information leaflets. 

Medline contains over 25 million citations in lifesciences and biomedicine. Coverage is from 1946 - present. You may already be familiar with searching Medline through PubMed. The articles indexed are the same, although PubMed coverage starts from 1966. 

Embase is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing records from over 8,500 published, peer-reviewed journals. You'll find articles covering a broad biomedical scope, including those on Basic biological science relevant to human medicine including biotechnology and biomedical engineering. Coverage is from 1974 - present.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us