Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Donations: Library Policies

Information on library policy and processes relating to book donations

Submit Donation

Unsolicited donations are not accepted.

Use the online form to submit a donation for review.

If your donation is intended for the Library’s Special Collections
email libspc@exeter.ac.uk.

Library Policy

  • The library operates a digital-first collections policy across all campuses.

  • It is not possible to accept all print donations to the Library.

  • Proposed donations are evaluated in line with the Collections Development and Donations policies prior to acceptance.

    • See opposite to view and/or download a copy of these policies.

  • The Library is not able to accept unsolicited donations. Any unsolicited donations which are not relevant to the collections may be sold or otherwise disposed of.

  • Donations become the property of the Library and may be disposed of following collection management reviews at a later date, e.g. if they are superseded by later editions or electronic equivalents or if they no longer meet teaching/research needs. 

  • Please address donations queries via email to library@exeter.ac.uk

For queries regarding donations to the Library’s Special Collections at the Streatham Campus, please direct your enquiry to libspc@exeter.ac.uk
For enquiries regarding donations to Archives & Special Collections at the Cornwall Campus, please direct your enquiry to archives@fxplus.ac.uk.

Student book donations

The libraries are unable to accept donations of textbooks from students.  

Instead, you could:

• Submit to Streatham Campus Blackwell's a list of possible textbooks for resale including ISBN (Number usually on the back cover) to exeter@blackwells.co.uk  If accepted these can then be taken to the Blackwell's Shop in the Great Hall Foyer, University of Exeter, EX4 4PZ.  

• Donate your books to a charity shop, for example the charity Book Cycle located near Exe Bridges at 7 West Street, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1BB. Contact by  email or telephone 01392 420 021

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us