Reference resources such as , dictionaries, encyclopediae and thesauri etc. are a quick and easy way to:
- examine facts and statistics about the world
- decipher abbreviations and definitions
- gain an overview of a topic
They can be really useful resources as you begin your background research into a topic, before you move on to more in depth research. The availability of many of these resources in online format has made discovery a much quicker and easier process.
Library Search
Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
As well as general reference works you will reference works which focus on particular legal topics or disciplines.
Examples include the following. There are many more! Library Search will help you to find these.
Compilation of peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of public international law. Written and edited by a team of scholars and practitioners in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.
Encyclopedia of Private International Law by You can use Library Search to discover online and print legal dictionary titles available to you.
The Oxford Reference Online service also includes various legal dictionaries, that can be used for quick reference purposes, such as the Oxford Dictionary of Law.
A Dictionary of Law by
This best-selling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,200 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system. This is a reissue with new covers and essentialupdates to account for recent changes.Highlighted feature entries discuss key topics in detail, for example adoption law, the appeals system, statement of terms of employment, and terrorism acts, and there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addresses problems and established conventions for writing legal essays andreports. Now providing more information than ever before, this edition features recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website.Described by leading university lecturers as "the best law dictionary" and "excellent for non-law students as well as law undergraduates", this classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for professionals, students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.Focusing primarily on English law, it also provides a one-stop source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.
Explore the full Oxford Reference Online service to see all the content that is available to you.
The encyclopedia is arranged alphabetically by topic and provides up to date commentary and links to relevant caselaw and legislation. The online version via Lexis makes it easy for you to follow through references to relevant case law, legislation and commentary. It also makes it easy to search for topics that straddle a range of legal areas.
The multi volume print version is also available for quick reference in Bay 1 of the Law Library on the Exeter Campus
There are many general reference works available to you at the university, including language dictionaries, thesauri, biographies etc. You can find out more via the Online Reference Resources LibGuide.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
