Skip to main content

Law - French Law: LibGuide - online library support

Introducing French law resources

 

A wide range of print and online resources are available to support you in your French Law Studies. 

Use Library Search and the key databases Dalloz and Lextenso, in order to search and access relevant content.

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles and more. 

Library Search LibGuide available for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Key Online Databases

You have access to numerous legal databases via the Databases A-Z.

Explore the Law subject listing to see all the resources.

Two key online French Law databases, Dalloz & Lextenso are recommended and you'll find more information about these on the adjacent tabs. 

Dalloz.FR is the online service of Editions Dalloz, one of the oldest and most respected legal publishers in France. Our subscription is limited to Dalloz actualite and Dalloz jurisprudence and does not include the Codes and Revues sections.Our subscription provides access to legislation and case law in four major subject areas: administrative, business, civil, European and international law. The database is only available in French.

Lextenso is a French Law Database for case law and journal research. We have access to Lextenso Pack Academique.

This includes:

  • Bulletin Joly Bourse (since 1993)
  • L’Essentiel Droit de la famille (since 2009)
  • Les Cahiers de l’Arbitrage (since 2010)
  • Bulletin Joly Entreprises en Difficulté (since 2011)
  • L’Essentiel Droit bancaire (since 2010)
  • Nouveaux Cahiers du Conseil Constitutionnel (since 2012)
  • Bulletin Joly Sociétés (since1986)
  • L’Essentiel Droit des assurances (since 2010)
  • Petites Affiches (since 1994)
  • Cahiers Sociaux (since 2004)
  • L’Essentiel Droit des contrats (since 2008)
  • Revue des Contrats (since 2003)
  • Defrénois (since 1990)
  • L’Essentiel Entreprises en Difficulté (since 2009)
  • Revue du Droit Public (since 2005)
  • Flash Defrénois (new) (since 2012)
  • L’Essentiel Immobilier et Urbanisme (since 2008)
  • Revue Française de Finances Publiques (since 2010)
  • Gazette du Palais (since 2000)
  • L’Essentiel Propriété Intellectuelle (since 2010)
  • Revue Générale du droit des Assurances (since 1995)
  • plus the jurisprudence database (2 million of decisions), including 1 000 000 of decisions from Courts of Appeal (new)

Loading ...

I want to look at ...

Use Library Search to look up all the book titles available to you.  This will show you both print and ebook titles.
 
General print works on French law are classified at KV 1161 in the Law Library. 
 
Other subjects are:

KV 1177        Constitutional law
KV 1182        Administrative law
KV 1190        Criminal law
KV 1195        Civil law
KV 1224        Employment law
KV 1227        Commercial law
KV 1244        Civil procedure
 
Examples include:
Government

 

Service public is a fully searchable gateway to French official websites.

Assemblée nationale is the official website of the French Parliament’s lower chamber.  It provides full details of all parliamentary business and includes information in English, German and Italian.

France-Diplomatie is the web server of France's Departement des Affaires Etrangeres and carries a wide range of information about France's politics, culture and geography in six languages.

Portail du gouvernement is the official site of the French Prime Minister's Office and has very useful information about French government and official policy.

The Journal Officiel publishes all official notices regarding French government business. Title-pages and texts for the last five days are available here.

Legal system

 

Legifrance, the French government’s legal server, includes the texts of the Constitution, the Codes (also in English and German translation) and much legislation as well as links to the major courts.

The Conseil Constitutionnel is online and has the text of important decisions dating back to 1985; the Cour de Cassation (French Supreme Court) also has a website.

Droit.org is a well produced portal to information about the French legal system.

The Institite of Advanced Legal Studies in London produces valuable guides to research in law from different jurisdictions, including France.

 
Loading ...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us