Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthrozoology: Online library support

 Welcome to the Anthrozoology LibGuide

Use this guide to help you make the most of the library services and resources to support your anthrozoology study and research. 

Further support and guidance is available on the Anthropology Subject Guide.

You may also need to look at other subject guides for certain areas of research, such as Psychology, Medicine or Environmental Studies. 
You can access all the Subject LibGuides online.  

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 
If you come across a useful book on environmental law and would like to recommend it to the Library, you can use the Student Book Suggestion Scheme

Build your Library Research Skills

 

 

 

Finding Resources using Library Search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more. Library Search LibGuide available for guidance.

 

Library Search is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources. Herea re some broad illustrative searches

Library Search offers two search option tabs and results

1. Catalogue

2. Articles + more

Sample search: crim* and animal*

 

Note that the asterisk * symbol has been used to incorporate variant word endings.  This is known as the truncation symbol - find out more about online search tips.

The catalogue tab shows matching book titles for this search - both print and ebook formats.

The Articles + more tab shows the matching book titles plus journal articles and other materials.

Finding Resources Using Online Databases

Research databases enable you to see what has been published in the area you are researching. They contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings etc.  Many databases also provide full text access to the materials. 

Anthrozoology encompasses a number of disciplines so you may need to draw on a range of different databases, depending on your topic. 

Recommended Databases for Anthrozoology Research 

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject otype (e.g. maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

By Subject

For example, you might want to explore databases for Anthropology, Psychology or Sociology in order to research anthrozoology topics. 

By Type

For example, you may want to focus on news, official publications or reference works databases.  You can find these and others in the A-Z Databases List. 

There are many different databases. Their interfaces will all vary, and they may use different terminology.

However, they all have similar features. Once you are familiar with these, you'll be able to find your way around different databases. You can see the main features in the examples below.

Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching

This is an example of the Web of Science search screen and it is typical of a research database search interface.

Once you click the Search button, the results page appears so that you can look at materials that match your search topic.

It is important to note:

  • Some databases provide full text access to the articles themselves.
  • Some databases are primarily indexes or bibliographic databases, and although they provide information about the content of a journal article, they may not provide full-text access to the actual article itself.
  • Some databases are a mixture of full-text and indexed/bibliographic access.

 

So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step. 

After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online.  Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.

 

For more information and top tips on finding the full text, see the How to access full text articles libguide.

Find out more about ...

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us