Archives and rare books held by Special Collections and the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum are available to everyone. More information about accessing the collections can be found in our Visiting Heritage Collections LibGuide. Please note that there may be some restrictions on accessing and copying (including photography) material in the archives and books held by Special Collections and the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum in line with current data protection and copyright legislation. Always make sure to check the access conditions on the archive catalogue and email Special Collections before your visit for more information about specific restrictions.

Papers of W T Hayward, agricultural company of Lifton, Devon [EUL MS 247]

Assorted business papers (1898-1920), including legal correspondence relating to Hayward vs. Mounce, and liquidation c 1898-1900, trade catalogues 1918-1919, copy of periodical 'System: the magazine of business', June c 1918, receipts and general correspondence 1892-1920, railway timetable for South Devon and Cornwall to London 1898.

Material relating to farm management at Syon Abbey [EUL MS 389/PROP/5]

Comprising material relating to the management of the agricultural land and livestock at Syon Abbey. The archive also includes papers relating to people employed to work on the farm (see EUL MS 389/PROP/5).

EUL MS 130 The Gale and Morant family papers [EUL MS 44; EUL MS 44 add. 1]

Content advice: This collection documents the oppression and enslavement of people of African and Caribbean descent. Papers within this collection may contain offensive terms or terms that have changed meaning over time.

The Gale and Morant family papers mainly comprise correspondence, accounts and legal papers (1731-1939) relating to the management of sugar plantations and livestock pens in Jamaica. The majority of the papers concern the business affairs of William Gale (d 1784). Many of these papers relate to enslavement, which include lists of enslaved people; documents recording their births and deaths; account books containing details of income and expendituree; and correspondence that provides insight into the living and working conditions on the plantations.

To find more items relating to banking and finance, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Professional papers of Jonathan Crusoe relating to Iraq and Kuwait [EUL MS 143]

This archive includes material on banking and finance [EUL MS 143/3].

Citrus Marketing Board Correspondence [EUL MS 406]

A small collection of business papers and correspondence (1948-72) documenting the financial affairs of the Citrus Marketing Board for Palestine and the attempts of its executors to reclaim assets frozen following the end of the British Mandate in 1948 and the establishment of the State of Israel. One of the executors and correspondents was Harry Styring (1896-1977), whose archive is also held at EUL MS 478.

To find more items relating to agriculture, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Common Ground archive [EUL MS 416]

The Common Ground archive comprises a wide range of material created and collected by the charity in the course of its activities between 1982 and 2013, including project planning papers, correspondence, reports, financial papers (including funding bids), research material, press clippings, photographs, promotional material, and publications. The main section of the Common Ground relates to the charity's project work. This section is divided into 15 sub-sections, with each sub-section relating to a different project organised by the charity. This reflects the archive's original order and the way these records were used by the charity. The archive also includes sections relating to general administration, finance, publicity, publications and reference material.

Find out more in our guide to the Common Ground archive

Papers of John Fairfax relating to the establishment of the Arvon Foundation [EUL MS 272]

This collection consists of the personal archive of Fairfax relating to the initial establishment of the Arvon Foundation and its gradual growth into a structured organisation.

Ronald Duncan Literary Foundation [EUL MS 397/16]

The Ronald Duncan Literary Foundation (RDLF) was a charitable trust set up in 1973 by Ronald Duncan and existed to promote the work and achievements of Ronald Duncan. It encouraged creative excellence and advanced causes that the Trustees deemed to be of value, particularly in the fields of writing, poetry and performance.

South Brent Women's Institute Golden Jubilee Scrapbook [EUL MS 136]

Volume containing 'Survey of the parish of South Brent', undertaken by the South Brent Women's Institute in the Jubilee Year of the Institute, 1965. Contains: report for the year 1965, chapters on local administration, local and natural history of the parish, education, local clubs and associations, and business. Also includes maps, newscuttings, photographs and illustrations.

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Somerfield supermarket and related organisations: papers [EUL MS 326]

The collection dates from the 19th century when the company was named J H Mills to the 1960s, prior to the renaming of the company as Somerfield. The collection includes ledgers of accounts, minutes for AGMs and directors' meetings, share certificates etc and other official records for Somerfield. The Canadian entrepreneur Garfield Weston bought into UK supermarket outlets in the 1950s and 1960s and the collection also contains records from these related companies including Fine Fare, ABC, Melias, and Sheen and Sons.

Trade card collection: Devon businesses [EUL MS 223]

This small collection contains twenty-nine mounted tradecards for a variety of Devon firms. Most of the firms represented are clockmakers, jewellers, ironmongers, tailors, drapers and dressmakers.

John Keymor's treatise on trade [EUL MS 97]

An early neat copy manuscript of Keymor's treatise, written in the reign of James I, possibly in the author's own hand.

Papers of the Leeds and Liverpool Canal Company [EUL MS 155]

One bound volume of annual reports of directors and statements of accounts for the Leeds and Liverpool Canal Company, 1877, 1895-1927, 1929-1933 and 1935.

Citrus Marketing Board Correspondence [EUL MS 406]

A small collection of business papers and correspondence (1948-72) documenting the financial affairs of the Citrus Marketing Board for Palestine and the attempts of its executors to reclaim assets frozen following the end of the British Mandate in 1948 and the establishment of the State of Israel. One of the executors and correspondents was Harry Styring (1896-1977), whose archive is also held at EUL MS 478.

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

University of Exeter Archive [EUL UA]

This large collection contains a variety of records relating to the University of Exeter and its predecessor institutions, including the following: admissions and fee registers; annual reports; minute books; estate building programme and general maintenance records; Chancellor's general correspondence; accounts ledgers and other financial papers; and departmental records.

Find out more in our guide to the University Archive

Papers of Henry Michael Barker relating to the history of the Barker family of Alexandria, Egypt [EUL MS 238]

This archive traces over 200 years of family involvement in business and educational enterprises in Egypt, including the Alexandria Schools Trust.

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Don Boyd [BDC 2]
Don Boyd (1948- ), film director, producer and writer: personal and business papers, mainly consisting of production documents relating to films written, produced or directed by Boyd 1968-2000, as well as film companies founded or co-founded by him. Also drafts, script notes, correspondence, publicity materials; 1968-2000.

Bob (Robert) Dunbar [BDC 3]
Bob Dunbar (1914-2000), film producer, principal of the London (International) Film School: personal and business papers relating to his films; also film scripts, production notes, papers from the London Film School, personal correspondence, press-cuttings, literary papers and interview transcripts, 20th c.

James Mackay [BDC 5]
James Mackay (1954- ), film producer: personal and business papers relating to his activities as a producer, in particular the films of Derek Jarman. Includes diaries, correspondence, production papers, financial papers, film scripts, screenplays, posters and press-cuttings, 20th c.

Gavrik Losey [BDC 6]

Gavrik Losey (1938 - ), film producer: business papers and production materials relating to his films as a producer, including Little Malcolm ( 1974), Agatha (1979) and Babylon (1980). Also papers from his work in production for Woodfall Films and for David Puttnam’s company, Goodtimes. Includes film scripts and screenplays for made and unmade films, assorted photographs and negatives, financial papers and film budgets.

To find more items relating to the film industry, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum holds many books relating to the film business. You can perform a keyword search via the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum website.

Examples of books in the collections include:

• The movie game: the film business in Britain, Europe and America (1997) by Michael Pye [20107]
• The Celluloid Empire: A History of the American Motion Picture Industry (1978) by Robert Stanley [31462]
• The Disney touch: how a daring management team revived an entertainment empire (1991) by Ron Grover [11803]

Records of the Santa Teresa Mine, Guadalajara, Mexico [EUL MS 56]

The papers are the deeds of a series of mines in the Province of Guadalajara, Mexico, dated 1877, including many details on the mines themselves, plans, sizes etc. Also included are papers relating to the appointment of P G Kime of London as the attorney of J H Cardon of Hermasillo, Soura, Mexico, in 1898, who was charged with organising the sale of the mines.

Hubert Milner Brown papers relating to the North Uruguayan Railway Company [EUL MS 62]

This collection consists of five photographs of the construction of the Northern Uruguayan railway, two other photographs of two men in local dress, a passport for Brown, dated 1887, his contract of employment, and a number of letters home to his parents while he was working in South America. There is also a balance sheet for the company for the year 1891.

Papers of Sir Harold Harding [EUL MS 337 and EUL MS 337 add.1]

Professional papers, including reports, photographs, lantern slides and prints relating to exploratory works for a channel tunnel and Piccadilly Circus.

Professional papers of Jonathan Crusoe relating to Iraq and Kuwait [EUL MS 143]

This archive includes material on travel and tourism in 1980s Iraq [EUL MS 143/19]; material on industry tenders; contractors' projects; the oil industry [EUL MS 143/15]; and railway development [EUL MS 143/21/4-7].

Research papers and Omani manuscripts of John Craven Wilkinson relating to Oman [EUL MS 119]

This archive includes numerous files and documents relating to the early part of his career working in the petroleum industry [EUL MS 119/2/3].

Research papers and Omani manuscripts of John Craven Wilkinson relating to Oman [EUL MS 119]

This archive includes numerous files and documents relating to the early part of his career working in the petroleum industry [EUL MS 119/2/3].

To find more items relating to industry, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Professional papers of Jonathan Crusoe relating to Iraq and Kuwait [EUL MS 143]

This archive includes material on travel and tourism in 1980s Iraq [EUL MS 143/19]; material on industry tenders, contractors' projects, banking and finance [EUL MS 143/3]; the oil industry [EUL MS 143/15], railway development [EUL MS 143/21/4-7] and a folder detailing western businesses and companies operating in Iraq [EUL MS 143/20/8].

Papers of Michael Adams relating to Middle Eastern politics [EUL MS 241/1]

This archive includes a box of material relating to travels and tours in the Middle East.

Papers of Henry Michael Barker relating to the history of the Barker family of Alexandria, Egypt [EUL MS 238]

This archive traces over 200 years of family involvement in business and educational enterprises in Egypt.

Papers of the Whittall Family of Turkey [EUL MS 259]

This archive traces over 200 years of family involvement in business enterprises in Turkey.

Research papers and Omani manuscripts of John Craven Wilkinson relating to Oman [EUL MS 119]

This archive includes numerous files and documents relating to the early part of his career working in the petroleum industry [EUL MS 119/2/3].

Citrus Marketing Board Correspondence [EUL MS 406]

A small collection of business papers and correspondence (1948-72) documenting the financial affairs of the Citrus Marketing Board for Palestine and the attempts of its executors to reclaim assets frozen following the end of the British Mandate in 1948 and the establishment of the State of Israel. One of the executors and correspondents was Harry Styring (1896-1977), whose archive is also held at EUL MS 478.

To find more items relating to business in the Middle East, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

Business resources in the Arab World Documentation Unit (AWDU) 

The Arab World Documentation Unit (AWDU) is a reference-only collection that is housed in the Institute for Arab and Islamic Studies and contains some 100,000 items, mainly 20^th century material relating to the Gulf, but with substantial holdings relating to the entire Middle East/SWANA region. From a business perspective, relevant holdings include an entire section dedicated to the petroleum industry, containing several hundred reports and publications issued by OPEC and OAPEC, oil companies such as Aramco, BP and Shell, as well as rare private commercial reports on water and oil issues. The main periodical sections also contains many titles relating to the Gulf oil industry, including two rare volumes of the Iraq Petroleum Company’s in-house magazine al-ʻĀmilūn fī al-naft (1963-65). 

AWDU also holds a large collection of material published by regional, international and Pan-Arab organisations, such as the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia, the International Centre for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas, the Gulf Cooperation Council, the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development, the Economic Research Forum for the Arab Countries, Iran and Turkey, the United Nations, the World Bank, Islamic Bank, the League of Arab Nations, Gulf Aviation Council, Middle East Economic Digest and many others. There are numerous economic and business reports produced by the Arab-British Chamber of Commerce, as well as Chambers of Commerce in Gulf Countries and individual companies, tourist brochures and tourism marketing studies, annual reports by banks (Iran, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia etc), statistical bulletins and rare financial data, studies of Islamic banking, records of international trade and so on. Much of this material is not held anywhere else in the UK and is often inaccessible in the Gulf too.

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Archives of South-West writers

The University of Exeter looks after a rich collection of literary papers of more than thirty writers, poets and playwrights with links to the South West of England. Many of these archives contain correspondence and contracts relating to the publication of their works. You can find out more in our special LibGuide on South West Writers.

Agatha Christie business papers [EUL MS 99]

The collection is the sequence of files from the offices of Hughes Massie and Co. Ltd. relating to Agatha Christie's literary estate prior to her death. For this entire period her agent was Mr Edmund Cork, and these files were created by him to reflect his dealings with publishers, film-makers and other professional persons with an interest in the Christie estate, including Agatha Christie herself, and her husband, Professor Sir Max Mallowan. Each file of correspondence relates to a particular year, and may include correspondence between Agatha Christie and Edmund Cork, correspondence between Cork and an American literary agent, Harold Ober, and other interested parties. There are also files relating to the setting up and administering of Agatha Christie Ltd, and family beneficiaries.

Papers of Sir Tom Blackburn relating to his work with Max Aitken, 1st Baron Beaverbrook [EUL MS 441]

This collection comprises papers from the archive of Sir Tom Blackburn, Chairman and Joint Managing Director of Beaverbrook Newspapers. The papers mainly relate to Blackburn's work and friendship with Max Aitken, the running of Beaverbrook Newspapers, and a number of high profile stories broken by the Daily Express during the 1950s and 1960s.

Business papers in the Ronald Duncan Collection [EUL MS 397/12]

Contracts, literary receipts, financial records and accounts relating to Ronald Duncan's business ventures.

To find more items relating to publishing and the literary business, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Northcott Theatre Archive [EUL MS 348]

The Northcott Theatre archive comprises administrative, marketing, outreach and production records spanning the period from its opening in 1967 to its refurbishment in 2007, with a small number of items from 2007-2010. The collection also includes a small amount of records from the earlier Theatre Royal, Exeter

Papers relating to the English Stage Company and the Royal Court Theatre (EUL MS 397/12/7)

Minutes, correspondence, financial statements, publications and other material relating to the English Stage Company and the Royal Court Theatre. The English Stage Company was founded in 1954 with Ronald Duncan as one of the founding members and the company opened at the Royal Court Theatre in 1956.

To find more items relating to theatre management, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

Papers of Michael Adams relating to Middle Eastern politics [EUL MS 241/1]

This archive includes a box of material relating to travels and tours in the Middle East.

To find more items relating to tourism, try searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue

• Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
• Enter a keyword, name or title

The Edmund Collection of Local History [Classmark: Edmund]

This collection includes many items - books, pamphlets and leaflets - relating to tourism in the South West, particularly in Devon in the 20th century.

Titles in the collection can be browsed on the online Library catalogue.

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide