Special Collections: Business Studies

Searching for Books and Printed Materials

Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue

• Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
• To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*
• To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*

Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide

The Edmund Collection of Local History (classmark: Edmund)

This collection includes many items - books, pamphlets and leaflets - relating to tourism in the South West, particularly in Devon in the 20th century.

Titles in the collection can be browsed on the online Library catalogue.

Business resources in the Arab World Documentation Unit (AWDU) 

The Arab World Documentation Unit (AWDU) is a reference-only collection that is housed in the Institute for Arab and Islamic Studies and contains some 100,000 items, mainly 20^th century material relating to the Gulf, but with substantial holdings relating to the entire Middle East/SWANA region. From a business perspective, relevant holdings include an entire section dedicated to the petroleum industry, containing several hundred reports and publications issued by OPEC and OAPEC, oil companies such as Aramco, BP and Shell, as well as rare private commercial reports on water and oil issues. The main periodical sections also contains many titles relating to the Gulf oil industry, including two rare volumes of the Iraq Petroleum Company’s in-house magazine al-ʻĀmilūn fī al-naft (1963-65). 

AWDU also holds a large collection of material published by regional, international and Pan-Arab organisations, such as the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia, the International Centre for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas, the Gulf Cooperation Council, the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development, the Economic Research Forum for the Arab Countries, Iran and Turkey, the United Nations, the World Bank, Islamic Bank, the League of Arab Nations, Gulf Aviation Council, Middle East Economic Digest and many others. There are numerous economic and business reports produced by the Arab-British Chamber of Commerce, as well as Chambers of Commerce in Gulf Countries and individual companies, tourist brochures and tourism marketing studies, annual reports by banks (Iran, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia etc), statistical bulletins and rare financial data, studies of Islamic banking, records of international trade and so on. Much of this material is not held anywhere else in the UK and is often inaccessible in the Gulf too.