Our rare book collections include books by LGBTQ+ writers and/or exploring themes around sexuality and gender identity. You can find these by visiting the Library Catalogue, search a keyword or the author's name, and select 'Special Collections' from the drop-down menu.
Our collections also include:
- collections of short stories by gay men:
- and interviews with gay writers:
The Hypatia Collection consists of approximately 10,000 books and journals by or about women. Part of its richness stems from the inclusive collecting habits of its creator who acquired many ephemeral titles and books on subjects and by writers traditionally excluded from the academic canon in her aim 'to make available published documentation about women in every aspect of their lives'.
The collection includes a range of books and pamphlets concerning or exploring themes around sexuality and gender identity. You can find examples of fiction and non-fiction works in the tabs within this box. Please note that these lists are not exhaustive, and further items of relevance may be found within the collection. If you identify any books within the collection that could be added to the list, we would be very pleased to hear about them.
Content advice: some of the books listed under non-fiction relate to discrimination and violence against people in the LGBTQ+ community
Examples of fiction books by LGBTQ+ writers and/or exploring sexuality and gender identity include:
Non-fiction books and pamphlets in the Hyaptia Collection include:
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
