How to search the Library Catalogue
Rare books and reserve collections can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue https://www.exeter.ac.uk/departments/library/
How to Search Rare Book Collections by Classmark / Call Number
All rare books held by Special Collections belong to different collections. Each book has its own unique classmark, also known as a call number, which begins with an identifier name of the collection (e.g. Hypatia, Lloyd, Reserve, Edmund etc.). You can find more information about the different rare book collections and their identifier names in the Rare Book and Maps Guide.
If you are interested in browsing all the books held within one collection, you can search a collection using the Advanced Search page of the Library Catalogue. Select 'Holding Call Number' from the 'Any Field' dropdown menu. Then enter the collection identifier (e.g. Hypatia) into the 'Enter a search term' field. Then click 'Search'.
If you are looking for books relating to a particular subject or author in the same collection, you can add this as a further search field on the Advanced Search page.
How to Arrange Search Results by Year
Once you have your search results in the Library Catalogue, use the 'Creation Date' option in the left hand column to refine results to a specific date range. You can then use the 'Sort by' dropdown under Refine your Results to display your search results in date order.
Select a Virtual Shelf Browse
Once you have your search results displayed in the Library catalogue, click on a book title to view the full item record.
From here you can scroll down to virtual browse. This allows you to browse a virtual bookshelf to see other similar titles shelved nearby. Click on the arrows to scroll through the shelves, click on a title to view the full item record.
More Information
Further guidance on searching the Library Catalogue can be found in the Library Search Guide
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
