Welcome to the Victorian and Edwardian Culture resource guide
This resource guide provides an overview of the items and collections held by the University of Exeter that date to the Victorian and Edwardian period (circa 1820 to 1914). The pages below provide information about archives, rare books, and cinema museum collections, and contain links to the catalogues, through which you can explore the collections further.
Further Resources
The resources highlighted in this guide have been identified using our catalogues, but are not exhaustive. You can search our archives catalogue and library catalogue with key word searches to identify further items of interest. More information on searching the catalogues can be found on the Search our Catalogues LibGuide. If you come across any other sources within our collections that you think should be included in this guide, we would be very pleased to hear about them.
A summary of online databases and digital archives relating to the Victorian and Edwardian period available through the University of Exeter Library can be found at the end of this guide. Please contact the University Library for more information.
The Devon and Exeter Institution collections are strong in nineteenth-century fiction, works relating to architecture and periodicals. Exeter University students and staff are able to use the DEI free of charge.The DEI catalogue is hosted by the University of Exeter and can be accessed online.
Accessing the Collections
Archives and rare books held by Special Collections are available to everyone. More information about accessing the collections can be found in our Visiting Heritage Collections LibGuide. Please note that there may be some restrictions on accessing and copying (including photography) material in the archives and books held by Special Collections in line with current data protection and copyright legislation. Always make sure to check the access conditions on the archive catalogue and email Special Collections before your visit for more information about specific restrictions.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
