Special Collections holds more than 470 archives and archival collections, including several dating back to the nineteenth and early twentieth century. Some of these are single items - such as a diary or album - whereas other collections contain a variety of archival materials created or compiled by an individual, organisation or group. These may include documents, letters, photographs, newspaper clippings and ephemera. The archives held at by Special Collections are available for everyone - students, staff and members of the public - to access in our reading room.
Click the next tab in this box for a list of archives and information on how to search the archives catalogue
University Archive (EUL UA) The University Archive includes records of the university's predecessor institutions - St Luke's College and the Royal Albert Memorial College - such as admissions registers, annual reports, student magazines and photographs. The can provide insight into higher education for both men and women in the 19th and early 20th century.
Lady Jersey's Personal Papers (EUL MS 10) Papers of a miscellaneous nature, including invitations to events, political satires, and short communications.
William Lynd's diary (EUL MS 14) William Lynd was an actor and had an interest in the latest in science and technology. He was an expert on the phonograph. The diary is a printed pocket daily diary, and is filled in as a daily account of Lynd's activities, but is especially full of information about his record-making activities, describing the machines with which he was supplied, the rates at which he made records and wax cylinders, and his tours demonstrating the invention in England and Ireland.
William Keble Martin papers relating to botany (EUL MS 15) William Keble Martin (1876-1969) was a clergyman and botanical author. The earliest notes are a diary of observations arranged under the headings of scientific names while a student at Oxford. Other notes for 'The Concise British Flora in Colour' are also included, including notes taken from journals.
Simms family papers (EUL MS 18) Most of the letters are addressed to the Revd. Edward Simms or his daughter, Miss M N Simms. Those addressed to his father include several relating to his poetry, especially his lines in memory of Sir Walter Scott, and his translations from Homer.
Art student's diary (EUL MS 21b) The diary begins on 30 Dec 1852 and has extensive, irregular entries on art, art history, friendsand the Royal Academy to 5 Jul 1853. There is one further entry, dated 11 Aug 1853, on which occasion the author notes he was in Colyton.
'Bird Book' containing watercolour illustrations of birds and eggs (EUL MS 23) The volume is a bound series of seventy-five watercolour illustrations of birds and one of eggs, some of which are annotated and dated (from 1802 at the earliest to 1831 at the latest) and which seem to be local to the Devon/Cornwall border: some are recorded to have been sketched 'at the boathouse', and Calstock is on the River Tamar. A number of sketches have contemporary manuscript notes attached.
Autograph letter collection of John Marshall (EUL MS 31a) The collection is an autograph collection compiled by Ada Blanche Marshall, daughter of John Marshall, Professor of Surgery, and for the most part being composed of letters sent to Professor Marshall from eminent English people.
John Gendall sketchbooks (EUL MS 37b) The volumes are a series of sketches pasted in at a later date. They include watercolour drawings, pencil sketches, chalk and charcoal drawings of various picturesque locations at Lynmouth and Plymouth (one volume), Okehampton, Gloucester and Tintern (another), and other places (a miscellaneous volume).
R D Blackmore literary papers (EUL MS 41) R.D. Blackmore (1825-1900) was a novelist and poet of the second half of the nineteenth century, often referred to as the 'Last Victorian'. Four boxes of literary fragments, exercise books, completed drafts and corrected proofs. Includes poems in progress and finished, whole manuscripts and part manuscript novels, plus typescript novels and short stories in proof. There are also a few letters. In addition, a set of 21 printed pamphlets of editions and transcriptions of Blackmore's work by David Blackmore. These include a comprehensive overview of Blackmore's writings, transcriptions of Blackmore’s letters to his sister, and his diary.
Gale and Morant Family papers (EUL MS 44; EUL MS 44 add. 1; EUL MS 130) [Content advice: This collection documents the oppression and enslavement of people of African and Caribbean descent. Papers within this collection may contain offensive terms or terms that have changed meaning over time. These collections include correspondence, accounts and other papers (1731-1939) relating to the management of family-owned sugar plantations in Jamaica at the height of the Transatlantic Slave Trade. Both sides of the family acquired sugar plantations that used the forced labour of enslaved people of African and Caribbean descent.
Glass plate negatives and photographs from the Library of the Imperial Institute, London, covering an extensive range of subjects from all parts of the Empire, India and Africa in particular, 1914-1939 [EUL MS 61]
Imperial institute: sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of the British Empire [EUL MS 61 add. 1]
Hubert Milner Brown papers relating to the North Uruguayan Railway Company, in the context of British influence in South America in the 19th century (EUL MS 62)
Papers of Stafford Henry Northcote (EUL MS 81) The papers include typed copies of Northcote's letters to colleagues, friends, family and political associates, including many to Gladstone and Disraeli, 1843-1887. In addition there are pamphlets, addresses, typed copies of letters to Northcote, cartoons from magazines, newspaper cuttings, appreciations of Northcote, verses by Northcote, notes for Lord Iddesleigh's biography by T.H. Farrer, anecdotes and other miscellanea.
Sir Joseph Norman Lockyer Collection (EUL MS 110, 114, 186, 236, 110) Sir Joseph Norman Lockyer (1836-1920), astronomer, was one of the pioneers of astronomical spectroscopy and became one of the most influential astronomers of his time. His main interest was sun spectroscopy, and he proceeded to push back the frontiers of spectroscopy and science, discovering the theoretical existence of helium. In 1869 Lockyer founded the journal 'Nature'. The collection contains materials regarding Lockyer himself such as memorials, letters from friends and notes made by Lockyer but also papers relating to the administration of the Norman Lockyer Observatory.
Archive materials from the John Betjeman Library (EUL MS 117) This small collection contains manuscripts of stray archival materials found loose within the working library collection. Included are letters and cards, draft articles and reviews, drawings, notes, manuscript poem drafts/fragments, and original and copy typescripts and manuscripts of unpublished works.
East India Company papers relating to the British factories in Bombay [Mumbai] and Basra, 1778-1820, copies and transcripts (EUL MS 142)
Papers of Dorothy Johnson relating to theatre history and John Lawrence Toole (EUL MS 149) This collection includes theatre playbills; mounted letters and telegrams relating to performances; and an album of mounted engravings of various actors and actresses.
Papers relating to Ballets Russes (EUL MS 158) Ballets Russes was a Russian émigré ballet company formed and directed by Serge Diaghilev (1827-1929). This small collection contains two programmes of the Russian Ballet's seasons at the Theatre du Chatelet, Paris, 1912-1914. Included are many colour illustrations of costume designs, as well as photographs and illustrations of various dancers and text about various ballet productions.
Papers relating to Sarah Bernhardt (EUL MS 170) This collection contains theatre pamphlets and other papers relating to Bernhardt's life and career.
Theatre Royal (Exeter) playbills collection (EUL MS 202) Nearly 2,400 playbills are held, relating to all types of production at the theatre over a fifty year period. Included are bills for ballets, plays, variety and revue performances, musicals, operas, pantomimes and film showings.
Papers relating to George du Maurier (1834-1896) illustrator, cartoonist and novelist. EUL MS 207/2 includes drawings, artwork and correspondence. George du Maurier was a magazine illustrator, working for both 'Once a Week' and 'Punch' as a cartoonist. He illustrated the novels of Thomas Hardy, Elizabeth Gaskell and Wilkie Collins. His illustrations were published in London literary magazines throughout his life. He was also a successful novelist, publishing 'Peter Ibbetson' (1889), 'Trilby' (1894) and 'The Martian' (1897). See EUL MS 144/2 for literary papers. See EUL MS 462/3/2 for further letters and drawings by George du Maurier.
Papers relating to Gerald du Maurier (EUL MS 207/3) Gerald du Maurier was an actor and theatrical manager. These papers include items regarding his acting career, such as press cuttings and photographs.
The Hudson Transparencies (EUL MS 214) Created by Hudson to illustrate his lectures, the 'Hudson transparencies' are a collection of 58 large framed paintings on paper screens. These visual teaching aids illustrate microscopic organisms and were designed to be viewed backlit in a darkened room.
Musical papers of Florence Salter and Bertha Salter (EUL MS 228) This small collection consists mainly of programmes of nationwide recitals and other performances of the Salter sisters 1895-1917 (including a 1903 programme signed by the conductor Henry J. Wood, amongst others).
Leopold Hartley Grindon: Plant specimen album (EUL MS 277) This bound volume is entitled 'Illustrations of the grasses indigenous to Great Britain and a few typical examples of British Cyperacae', 1866. The volume contains pressed plant specimens, with printed attached labels. An index is available.
Russel Harris: Algae specimen album (EUL MS 278) Bound volume entitled 'Marine algae collected in Plymouth', containing pressed specimens, with printed attached labels, late 19th / early 20th century
Papers of Deborah Alcock, novelist (EUL MS 281) Diary for 1871; bound manuscript notebook, containing notes entitled 'Wars of the Roses', [n.d.], a collection of letters, 1838-1849, and French exercises [n.d.]; bound volume of reviews, cuttings, letters etc, c 1870.
Scrapbook of John Stokes Bennett of the Theatre Royal, Exeter, and other papers relating to theatre history (EUL MS 11) This item comprises one volume scrapbook of mainly newspaper cuttings, 1820-1824, compiled by John Stokes Bennett (actor and theatre manager of New Theatre and Theatre Royal, Exeter), also containing 18th and 19th c theatrical posters (playbills).
Somerfield supermarket and related organisations: papers (EUL MS 326) The collection dates from the 19th century when the company was named J H Mills to the 1960s, and includes ledgers of accounts, minutes for AGMs and directors' meetings, share certificates etc and other official records for Somerfield.
Syon Abbey archive (EUL MS 389) The archive of the Bridgettine nuns of Syon Abbey includes a wide variety of records such as correspondence, diaries, account books, personal papers, photographs and artwork. Between the 19th and early 20th century, the community lived in Lisbon (Portugal), Spetisbury (Dorset) and Chudleigh (Devon).
Cecil Harmsworth archive (EUL MS 435) Cecil Harmsworth (1869-1948) was a politician, businessman and the first Baron Harmsworth of Egham. The archive includes diaries, correspondence and papers, speeches and literary papers, photographs, and printed material. A highlight of the archive are the collection of diaries kept by Cecil Harmsworth between 1900 and 1948, which are full of observations and notes on domestic and foreign policy, parliamentary colleagues, and his political duties as an MP.
19th manuscript book of poetry from Cornwall, probably by a Thomas Bolitho (EUL MS 437)
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
