To reserve a desk and request materials for Special Collections please use the form below and select 'Special Collections' from the first option. There is also an option to request both Special Collections and Bill Douglas Cinema Museum materials.
Our collections are available for everyone - students, staff and members of the public - to access in our Reading Room. Staff will email you to confirm your booking. We are open:
Mondays to Fridays 10am-12:30pm and 1:30pm-4:30pm (we close over lunchtime for 1 hour)
Please book your visit at least 48 working hours in advance, or longer if you can, to allow staff time to prepare your materials. Data Protection restrictions and Freedom of Information exemptions also apply to some archive collections, meaning that access must be arranged well in advance of your visit.
Heritage Collections is closed during bank holidays and University closure periods (Christmas and New Year). Please enquire in advance for precise closure dates if you plan to visit during these times of year.
The Reading Room will be closed from Monday 23 December 2024 to Friday 03 January 2025 inclusive. The Reading Room will re-open on Monday 06 January 2025. Please note: we will not be responding to enquiries or managing bookings during the closure period. Bookings for 06 and 07 January should be made no later than Thursday 19 December 2024.
To request materials for the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum please use the form below and select 'Bill Douglas Cinema Museum' from the first option. There is also an option to request both Bill Douglas Cinema Museum and Special Collections materials.
We are open:
Mondays to Fridays 10am-12:30pm and 1:30pm-4:30pm (we close over lunchtime for 1 hour)
You can browse materials by category in the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum catalogue or you can search by keyword.
To create a list of items you are interested in click on the ‘Add to collection’ button on the catalogue page. Continue adding items using the 'Add to collection' buttons, then, when you've finished, click 'I'm done! Save my collection' at the top of the page. You will be given a link to your collection which you can bookmark for future reference or share with others. Email the link to the museum at bdc@exeter.ac.uk to request to view the items on your list or add the link to your booking form. A member of staff will get in touch to confirm your booking.
The museum contact details can be found here if you have any questions before your visit.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
