Many of our collections - or items contained within them - are in copyright and and are subject to restrictions.
We are not permitted to provide copies of any material in copyright for a commercial purpose without the written permission of the copyright owner and we will advise you if this is the case.
All requests for copies from collections thus protected must be accompanied with written permission from the copyright owner in advance. This particularly applies to certain modern archive collections. Please forward written permission to libspc@exeter.ac.uk
Written consent for publication must be obtained from the Library in addition to the consent of the copyright owner. Please submit the form below to request permission from the Library to publish from our collections.
It is your responsibility to trace the copyright owner and provide proof of permission for the copies to be made. The WATCH database at http://tyler.hrc.utexas.edu/ may be able to assist you in finding the copyright owner. Further advice on UK copyright is available from The National Archives.
Requests for publication, display - and in the case of some archival items, quotation - must be obtained jointly from the copyright holder and from the Library. All reproductions must be acknowledged in the published work. There may be further requirements if items are to be reproduced in publications, including the charging of fees.
All applications to publish items from the collections must be made in writing. The permission of the Library as owner/place of deposit will be required before publication. In some cases, the Library's agreement will be dependent on written evidence of additional permission from the copyright holder. Applications to publish can be made by letter or by completing this form.
Fees are likely to be payable to the University Library for images which are to appear in publications, or for extracts from unpublished manuscripts which are to be quoted. In some cases, a literary executor or agent will expect a fee for reproduction as well.
Payment is made by prior arrangement with Special Collections and can be paid online via debit/credit card.
Copying decisions are made by Special Collections staff on a case-by-case basis
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
