Digital photography of archival material is not normally permitted without prior permission from the copyright holders.
Requests for copies of archive material are assessed on a case by case basis. For copies you must complete the relevant request form based on the type of copying required:
Reproduction or publication in any medium is expressly forbidden without written authorisation. Please see Requests for publication for further details.
If you are visiting the reading room it is possible for you to make copies free of charge using your own digital camera.
All images are made subject to copyright legislation. Please note copies are made for personal research only and on this basis, we would ask you to destroy the copies once your research is completed.
No self-service digital photography is permitted for items which are in copyright without prior written permission by the copyright holder. Please note that this restriction includes most archive material held in Special Collections. A Self Service Photography form must be completed before any images may be taken.
Reproduction or publication in any medium is expressly forbidden without written authorisation.
Supplied Images
Digital images of items held in the collections are supplied strictly for private research for a non-commercial purpose, on completion of the relevant digital request form.
Requests will normally be supplied as JPEG or TIFF files via a secure OneDrive link.
Copying is carried out in accordance with the Special Collections Reprographics' Policy, which takes into account staff availability, preservation needs and copyright legislation.
Reproduction or publication in any medium is expressly forbidden without written authorisation.
A minimum charge of £10 will be made for supplied images. Payment can be made online via debit/credit card. Please see our digital image charges below for further details.
Supplied Images
Copying is carried out in accordance with the Special Collections Reprographics' Policy, which takes into account staff availability, preservation needs and copyright legislation.
Reproduction or publication in any medium is expressly forbidden without written authorisation.
Certain types of material cannot be photocopied or scanned, due to preservation issues:
Constraints on staff time may restrict the quantity of copying that can be requested, and readers are cautioned that requests for copies cannot usually be completed during the day of their visit.
Book photocopies for external readers can be posted out on completion, or collected in person.
Archival copying is done on a case-by-case basis in consultation with senior Special Collections staff and is dependent on copyright restrictions.
Library staff reserve the right to refuse to photocopy materials if they judge that physical damage is likely to be caused to books or documents.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
