Special Collections: World Resources

EUL MS 11 William Harding King photographs relating to his explorations of the Libyan Desert [Language: English]

William Joseph Harding King (1869-1933) was an explorer and a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. This collection comprises a series of 508 black and white photographs taken by William Harding King in the Libyan desert in the early 20th century.

EUL MS 61 Glass plate negatives and photographs from the Library of the Imperial Institute, London [Language: English]

This collection of photographs was primarily used for teaching purposes by the staff of the Imperial Institute, and were mainly taken by amateur photographers during the 1920s to 1930s. The photographs cover an extensive range of subjects and activities from all parts of the former British Empire, with an emphasis on India and the African continent.

EUL MS 61 add. 1 Imperial institute: sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of the British Empire [Language: English]

This collection comprises sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of former British colonies, including Ceylon (present-day Sri Lanka), Trinidad, British Malaya (present-day Malaysia), British Guiana (present-day Guyana), British East Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Zanzibar, Tanganyika), British West Africa (present day The Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone), Jamaica, Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

EUL MS 63 Papers of Frank G Woodhams relating to King Ismail of Egypt [Language: English]

EUL MS 79 Jean Trevor research papers relating to the Hausa women of northern Nigeria [Language: English]

Jean Trevor, nee Cole, began working on the sociology of the Hausa women of northern Nigeria in the late 1960s. The papers include record cards and notes, correspondence, chapter offprints, and a copy of her thesis.

EUL MS 112 Papers of Mervyn Bennun relating to Anti-Apartheid [Language: English]

Comprising mainly printed materials, including: newscuttings, correspondence, flyers and leaflets, typescripts of articles and other writings (including on the trial of the 'Sharpeville Six'). Some books, pamphlets, and periodicals are also included. [See also: Mervyn Bennun collection of journals and pamphlets relating to Anti-Apartheid, 1960s-1990s: pamphlets relating to Anti-Apartheid are listed on the library classic catalogue.]

EUL MS 183 Archive of Nubian Language and Culture [Languages: Nubian languages, Arabic, English

The Archive of Nubian Language and Culture is a planned artificial collection of material relating to a group of related languages spoken by the Nubians in Sudan and Southern Egypt, which was collected by Professor W Herman Bell.

EUL MS 184 David L Perrott papers relating to Sudanese law [Language: English]

This collection consists of research papers relating to Sudanese legal cases, 1898-1964.

EUL MS 199 Manuscript Ethiopian Bible [Language: Ge'ez]

A manuscript Old Testament Bible (Psalter and Ethiopian Canticles) dating to the 19th century.

EUL MS 216 Papers relating to the Exeter and District Anti-Apartheid Group

The Exeter and District Anti-Apartheid Group was established as the Exeter and District Anti-Apartheid Committee in c 1966. Although primarily concerned with South Africa, the Group also addressed problems associated with racism and human rights elsewhere in the world. The collection includes seven boxes of print and archival materials relating to administration of the Group.

EUL MS 238 Papers of Henry Michael Barker relating to the history of the Barker family of Alexandria, Egypt [Language: English]

Papers relating to history of the Barker family from 17th to 20th centuries, in relation to their business and political associations with Alexandria, Egypt.

EUL MS 352 Manuscript Ethiopian Folding Prayer Book, also known as a 'Sensul' [Language: Ge'ez]

A small parchment folding manuscript prayer book.

EUL MS 466 Frank Dean's collection of photographic prints of Egypt 1913 [Language: English]

The collection comprises about 50 photographic prints of Egyptian scenes in and around Cairo and Giza, acquired by Frank Dean while in Egypt in 1913.

EUL MS 33 Japanese WW2 propaganda cartoons [Languages: Hindi, English]

The collection comprises five printed items of Japanese propaganda, presumably designed to incite anti-British sentiments in India during the Second World War. All items in this collection have been digitised and are available to browse via the Digital Collections website of the University of Exeter Special Collections.

EUL MS 46 Northcote family pamphlets [Language: English]

Includes a letter to Lady Northcote from Cornelia Sorabji (1866-1954), Indian lawyer and first woman to study law at Oxford University.

EUL MS 47a Sketches of Ceylonese [Sri Lanka] life by John Van Dort [Language: English]

The volume is a bound book of forty-seven sketches by Van Dort divided into three parts: pictures of dignitaries, tradesmen and villagers.

EUL MS 52 Captain H E Hillman papers including diaries Language: English]

The collection includes five completed diary volumes for 1920-1921, 1923-1925, plus one covering January to April 1926, recorded by Captain Hillman in Shanghaim, as well as other related items.

EUL MS 61 Glass plate negatives and photographs from the Library of the Imperial Institute, London

This collection of photographs was primarily used for teaching purposes by the staff of the Imperial Institute, and were mainly taken by amateur photographers during the 1920s to 1930s. The photographs cover an extensive range of subjects and activities from all parts of the former British Empire, with an emphasis on India and the African continent.

EUL MS 61 add. 1 Imperial institute: sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of the British Empire [Language: English]

This collection comprises sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of former British colonies, including Ceylon (present-day Sri Lanka), Trinidad, British Malaya (present-day Malaysia), British Guiana (present-day Guyana), British East Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Zanzibar, Tanganyika), British West Africa (present day The Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone), Jamaica, Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

EUL MS 137 Papers of Sir Leonard Costello relating to the Bhowal Sanyasi law case, India [English]

This collection consists of material relating to the Bhowal Sanyasi law court case in India in 1939, including typescript transcripts of evidence given in court, court schedule lists, photographs and newspaper clippings. The items in this collection originate from the Appeal from Original Decree (Sreemati Bibhabati Devi v. Ramendra Narayan Roy), over which Costello presided as Acting Chief of Justice.

EUL MS 142 Late 20th century photocopies and transcripts of East India Company papers relating to the British factories in Bombay [present day Mumbai] and Basra [Language: English]

This collection consists of photocopies (13 boxes) and transcripts (19 boxes) of East India Company papers held in India relating to the British factory in Bombay, 1755-1820, and similar for Basra 1763-1811.

EUL MS 145 Papers of Henry Frank Fulford Williams relating to the history of India [Language: English]

One hardback volume containing typescript entitled 'Notes on the History of India', 1914-1934.

EUL MS 389 Syon Abbey archive [Languages: primarily English, Latin and Portuguese, but also Dutch, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Swedish, Norwegian and Finnish]

The archive of the monastery includes correspondence with other Bridgettine communities around the world, including in India.

EUL MS 397 Ronald Duncan Collection [Languages: Primarily English. Some items in German, French, Italian, Polish, Turkish, Dutch, Spanish, Hindustani and other languages]

The Ronald Duncan Collection includes several items [languages: English, Hindustani] relating to Mahatma Gandhi and Ronald Duncan's visit to Mahatma Gandhi in India in 1937. It includes mementos and gifts such as a Cap, spool of thread and copy of the 'Gita' given to Ronald Duncan during his visit to Gandhi's Wardha Ashram in 1937.

EUL MS 45 Chris Wallace-Crabbe literary papers

Chris Wallace-Crabbe (b 1934) is a poet and Professor of English Literature at the University of Melbourne. He lived in Exeter and taught on the Commonwealth Arts course at the University in the early seventies, and has also lived in the United States and Italy, as well as Melbourne. The folder contains a number of draft poems and typed poems, as well as part of a corrected proof of 'Six Voices' for publication, postcards, programmes, and other assorted items.

EUL MS 61 Glass plate negatives and photographs from the Library of the Imperial Institute, London [Language: English]

This collection of photographs was primarily used for teaching purposes by the staff of the Imperial Institute, and were mainly taken by amateur photographers during the 1920s to 1930s. The photographs cover an extensive range of subjects and activities from all parts of the former British Empire, with an emphasis on India and the African continent.

EUL MS 61 add. 1 Imperial institute: sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of the British Empire [Language: English]

This collection comprises sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of former British colonies, including Ceylon (present-day Sri Lanka), Trinidad, British Malaya (present-day Malaysia), British Guiana (present-day Guyana), British East Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Zanzibar, Tanganyika), British West Africa (present day The Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone), Jamaica, Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

EUL MS 172 Volumes of photographs of New Zealand [Language: English]

One volume of photographs by John Tensfeld containing views of New Zealand in the late 19th century.

EUL MS 175 Chris Wallace-Crabbe family photographs [Language: English]

The photographs include a number of black-and-white images of the family in Victoria, Australia, in 1972. The collection also includes a copy of 'The Yale Literary Magazine' for May 1966, which includes two pieces by Wallace-Crabbe.

EUL MS 12 Victor J Leuliette papers relating to the teaching of English history and French literature [Languages: French, English]

The collection includes four volumes of notes relating to the teaching of English history and French literature, two volumes of manuscript music (songs in French), and two bundles of notes relating to unpublished language manuals.

EUL MS 26 German wedding songs [Language: German]

EUL MS 30b Nuovo Ritratti della corte di Francia: manuscript account of members of the French court [Language: Italian]

The full title of the manuscript is 'Nuovi Ritratti della Fameglia Reale, de Ministri di Stato, e de Principali personaggi della corte di Francia, con una esatta suppucazione delle Entrate e rendite della Corona' and is dated 1704. It is a manuscript copy of an account of the various characters of the French court.

EUL MS 36 Mariette family papers [Language: French]

The papers are largely family papers, including wills, inventories, and other legal documents, copies of deeds, and private accounts, relating to the Mariette family and connected families, such as the de Villeblin family. The bulk of the collection dates from the eighteenth century.

EUL MS 107 Papers of the Revd Basil Hall relating to Calvin and Geneva [Languages: English, some Latin, Spanish, Italian, Greek, Hebrew]

EUL MS 125 Eighteenth century French political satires [Language: French]

EUL MS 158 Papers relating to Ballets Russes Language: French]

This small collection contains two programmes of the Russian Ballet's seasons at the Theatre du Chatelet, Paris, 1912-1914. Included are many colour illustrations of costume designs, as well as photographs and illustrations of various dancers and text about various ballet productions.

EUL MS 170 Papers relating to Sarah Bernhardt [Languages: French, English]

This collection contains theatre pamphlets and other papers relating to the life and career of Sarah Bernhard (1862-1923), a stage actress born in Paris.

EUL MS 179 Music manuscript of Jan Èaboun [Language: German]

Jan Nepomut Èaboun was an organist and composer, born in Prague. This collection consists of one bound volume containing manuscript pieces for solo piano.

EUL MS 214 Arthur Schnitzler presscuttings archive [Languages: German, also French, English, Russian, Italian, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Czech, Spanish, Polish and Serbo-Croatian]

Arthur Schnitzler (1862-1931) was a dramatist, novelist and critic, was one of the principal figures in the Viennese fin de siecle movement. The collection brings together an extensive body of evidence on the reception of Schnitzler's work and contains mainly press-cuttings (c 23,000).

EUL MS 262 Syon Abbey Medieval and Modern Manuscript Collection [Languages: English, Latin, Portuguese, French, Dutch, Swedish, German, Italian, Spanish]

This collection comprises medieval and modern manuscripts owned by the Bridgettine community of Syon Abbey. It includes several manuscripts originating from other Bridgettine monasteries in Europe (see, in particular: EUL MS 262/8 Missale Hollandicum), as well as manuscripts in various languages.

EUL MS 318 French legal document awarding income generated by the King's leather industry 'tax farm' to Jean Dariez [Language: French]

French legal document no 2585 awarding [rentes] 3% [120 French livres] of income [4,000 French livres] generated by the King's leather industry 'tax farm' [900,000 leathers tanned and prepared] to M Jean Dariez, dental surgeon of England by edicts of Aug 1759 and Jul 1761.

EUL MS 389 Syon Abbey archive [Languages: primarily English, Latin and Portuguese, but also Dutch, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Swedish, Norwegian and Finnish]

The archive of the monastery includes correspondence with other Bridgettine communities around Europe, including Belarus, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. As the community of Syon Abbey lived in Lisbon, Portugal between 1594 and 1861, the archive also contains several items written in Portuguese.

For more information about the Middle East collections, see our

Middle East Studies LibGuide and blog posts on the Special Collections Blog

EUL MS 63 Papers of Frank G Woodhams relating to King Ismail of Egypt [Language: English]

EUL MS 84 Papers of George Wilson Knight: 'Road to Kasvin' typescript memoir [Language: English]

The photocopy is of the original typescript of Wilson Knight's memoirs of being a despatch rider in the Middle East, 1916-1920, entitled 'Road to Kasvin', which does not appear to have ever been published. The original was typed in about the 1930s.

EUL MS 115 Personal and research papers of Sir John and Lady Diana Richmond relating to the history of the Arab-Israeli conflict [Language: English]

This collection contains papers relating to the history of Israel and the Palestine conflict. Included: correspondence (personal and to the press); 'day books' (containing notes taken from daily newspapers on Middle Eastern affairs); periodicals and pamphlets; research notes, notes for lectures and draft writings; signature book on the Richmond's departure from Khartoun in 1966; diaries; and book reviews. Also included are some writings of Lady Richmond, relating to the Middle East.

EUL MS 119 Research papers and Omani manuscripts of John Craven Wilkinson relating to Oman [Languages: Arabic, English]

This collection consists of archival materials relating to Oman. Mainly comprises research notes (including on PDO and Oman), unpublished papers, maps, newscuttings, conference materials and photographs, as well as photocopies and microfilm archival material held in other institutions. The Falaj Malki manuscript relating to water and tribal settlement in Izki, Oman in this collection has been digitised and is available to browse via the Digital Collections website of the University of Exeter Special Collections.

EUL MS 129 Nazih Ayubi research papers relating to the Middle East [Languages: mainly English]

Drafts and proofs of author's publications and assorted academic notes.

EUL MS 143 Professional papers of Jonathan Crusoe relating to Iraq and Kuwait [Language: English]

This collection consists of the presscuttings and working notes of Crusoe, created during his career as a journalist in the period 1979-1991. Papers created prior to August 1990 relate mainly to developments within Iraq. Following the invasion of Iraq into Kuwait, all aspects of the war, conditions in both countries, international development and post-war developments are covered.

EUL MS 146 Papers of Sir William Luce relating to Aden and the Gulf [Language: English]

This collection consists of materials relating to the time that Luce spent serving in Aden, Yemen, and the Gulf region. Included: correspondence, offprints and printed works, including pamphlets and journals; notebooks and appointment diaries; material relating to visits to the Gulf region; texts of speeches delivered, 1951-1973. Also included are diaries of Lady Luce, 1944-1966.

EUL MS 148 Papers of Charles Dalrymple-Belgrave relating to Bahrain [Language: English]

The collection consists of copies of the personal diaries of Belgrave, from his arrival as advisor in Bahrain to the time of his departure during the Suez crisis. They date from 1926-1957 (with a gap for 1937).

EUL MS 151 R J Gavin typescript relating to British policy and the seizure of Aden [Language: English]

The collection consists of a bound copy typescript (49 pp) entitled 'British Policy and the Seizure of Aden, 1839', published in 1959. The work draws heavily on archival primary sources, which are referenced comprehensively throughout.

EUL MS 153 Papers of Ya'akov (Hardwin) Firestone relating to the village of Arrabeh, Palestine [Languages: Arabic, English, Hebrew, Osmanli, French, German]

This is a collection of detailed documentation on the village of Arrabeh near Jenin situated in the hill country of Samaria, Palestine, covering the period 1850-1950. It includes financial, agricultural and genealogical records, as well as maps, photographs and card indexes.

EUL MS 215 Papers of Nabih Al-Azmah and Adil Al-Azmah (copies) [Language: Arabic]

This collection contains photocopied documents, reports and correspondences covering several Arab countries.

EUL MS 218 Al-Dayrabi manuscript [Language: Arabic]

One manuscript volume, containing (?incomplete) copy of 'Kitab al-Mujarrabat' aka 'Fath-al-malik al-majid' by Al-Dayrabi (d 1738/9), scribe and date of copying unknown [? 20th c.]. This is a treatise on magic (printed many times, most recently in Cairo in the 1970s). Some marginal annotations are included.

EUL MS 219 Al-Majdi manuscript [Language: Arabic]

One manuscript volume containing commentary on Muhammad ibn Ali al-Birkawi's 'Al-'awamil al-jadidah' by ?Yusuf Al-Majdi, entitled 'I' lam al-haqabbat' (a treatise on Arabic grammar), scribe unknown, date unknown [? 20th c.]      

EUL MS 220 Ibn al-Hajj lithograph [Language: Arabic]

One volume containing complete lithograph copy of 'Kitab shumus al-anwar wa-kunuz al-asrar' ('The book of the suns of lights and the treasures of secrets': a treatise on charms and talismans) by Ibn al-Hajj Muhammed ibn Muhammed (d 1336), printed 1868 with later handwritten notations, possibly a first edition (Qastaliyah Press, Cairo, Egypt).

EUL MS 221 Papers of Richard Howard Stafford Crossman relating to Palestine (late 20th century copies) [Language: English]

One file of copy papers relating to Palestine and the Palestine report of the Anglo-American Committee, 1946-1948. Includes correspondence between Crossman and Lord Henderson, and Crossman and Dr Chaim Weizmann.               

EUL MS 222 Hikayet manuscript [Languages: Turkish, English annotations]

One manuscript volume in Ottoman Turkish containing copy of 'Hikayet-i Dikyanus, a treatise on 'The Seven Sleepers of Ephesus'.

EUL MS 233 Major William Nassau Weech manuscript relating to history of Persia [Language: English]

This collection contains a sketch of the history of Persia, for inclusion in a World History (typescript text of two chapters, with hand-drawn map of Persia and copy photographs to be included as plates), Nov 1936.

EUL MS 238 Papers of Henry Michael Barker relating to the history of the Barker family of Alexandria, Egypt [Language: English]

Papers relating to history of the Barker family from 17th to 20th centuries, in relation to their business and political associations with Alexandria, Egypt.

EUL MS 241 Papers of Michael Adams relating to Middle Eastern politics [Language: English]

This collection contains much of interest for researchers specialising in relations between the Middle East and Britain, as the collection contains the working papers of the journalist Michael Adams spanning a period of fifty years.

EUL MS 259 Papers of the Whittall Family of Turkey [Language: English]

This collection contains assorted papers and accruals relating to the family's history and commercial activities in Turkey.

EUL MS 264 Papers of Sir John Wilton relating to Qatar and Kuwait [Language: English]

EUL MS 268 Papers relating to the Middle East Centre for Arab Studies (MECAS) [Languages: English, French, Arabic]

This collection contains papers relating to the history of the Middle East Centre for Arab Studies (MECAS), an Arabic language school founded by the British Army during World War II in Jerusalem, and Zerqa, Transjordan, before removing permanently to Shemlan near Beirut, Lebanon.

EUL MS 283 Photograph of the meeting of King Abdul Aziz Ibn Saud and Shaikh Mubarak taken by Captain William Shakespear

EUL MS 284 Material relating to thesis on the Muslim Brotherhood [Language: Arabic]

Cassettes and 5 boxes of card indexes (in Arabic) of interviews in Arabic with members of the Muslim Brotherhood, gathered by Abdullah al-Fattah Muhammad El-Awaisi, professor and author, for PhD thesis 'The Muslim Brothers and the Palestine Question, 1936-1947', 1986, University of Exeter.

EUL MS 285 Papers of Peter Morris relating to Iran [Language: English]

Comprising research papers on British policy views, Iranian attitudes and social matters, administration and army, trade, agriculture and economy, FARS and Provinces; also personal notebooks, photocopied articles, cuttings, postcards, guides and maps.

EUL MS 293 Personal papers and photograph album of John Shebbeare relating to Oman [Language: English, Arabic]

This small collection contains two files of papers, an envelope of presscuttings and a photograph album, c 1968-c 1974, relating to Shebbeare's residence in Oman.

EUL MS 370 Personal and literary papers of Glencairn Balfour-Paul [Language: English]

This collection contains assorted papers created and collected by Balfour Paul reflecting his wide range of interest and scholarship. They include family correspondence and genealogical research on the Monteith family (relations); papers on the Sudan where Balfour Paul had served in the war; papers, photographs, drawings and notebook on Darfur, together with copies and offprints of articles; plus articles, lectures and correspondence on the Gulf.

EUL MS 377 Robin Bidwell Papers [Languages: English, French, Arabic, German, Italian, Latin]

Papers of Dr Robin Bidwell (1929-1994), political officer in the Western Aden Protectorate, OUP travelling editor for the Middle East, Secretary and Librarian of the Middle East Centre in the Faculty of Oriental Studies in the University of Cambridge and a Middle East scholar who specialised in French and British colonial history with particular expertise relating to Morocco, Algeria, Yemen and the Arabian Peninsula.

EUL MS 403 Archive items from the Omar Sheikhmous collection of Kurdish Research [Languages: Kurdish, Arabic, English]

This archive contains newspapers cuttings and newsfiles, political pamphlets; unpublished and draft papers; conference materials; university publications (Kurdish and Swedish), and maps. It also includes a large amount of original archival material relating to different Kurdish political parties, the Kurdish National Congress, the Kurdish Pen Club, etc., as well as personal correspondence. an extensive collection of primary source materials relating to Middle East politics, with a focus on Kurdistan and Iraq.

EUL MS 418 Diaries of Admiral George Henry Parlby White [Language: English]

Six volumes of manuscript diaries of naval officer George H.P. White, providing an account of his voyages between 1819 and 1838. 

EUL MS 452 Letters of Ethel Mannin to Christopher Walker [Language: English]

Ethel Edith Mannin (1900-84) was a prolific writer of novels and travel memoirs, as well as a committed Socialist and political activist. Christopher Joseph Walker (1942-2017) was working in Sotheby's department of historical and literary manuscripts when he came into contact with Mannin in the late 1960s through their shared interest in the Palestinian cause. In their letters - which focus primarily on Palestinian issues and the politics of the Middle East - Mannin shared with the young historian her knowledge of people and places, built up over decades of travel and political activism. They did, however, disagree on various issues, including the value of the work of CAABU (The Council for the Advancement of Arab-British Understanding), and the letters are full of examples of Mannin's forceful political opinions and lively expression.

EUL MS 466 Frank Dean's collection of photographic prints of Egypt 1913 [Language: English]

The collection comprises about 50 photographic prints of Egyptian scenes in and around Cairo and Giza, acquired by Frank Dean while in Egypt in 1913.

EUL MS 8 Martinique address by Charles Grant, collector of HM Customs [Language: English]

The document is an address from the British merchants in Martinique on the occasion of his departure from that island in 1814. This is the context of the Napoleonic Wars. Martinique island, in the Caribbean Sea, was under British occupation from 1809 to 1814 when the island was returned to French administration following the restoration of the French monarchy in 1814.

EUL MS 44; EUL MS 44 add. 1; EUL MS 130 The Gale and Morant Family Papers relating to enslavement on plantations in Jamaica [Language: English]

Content advice: This collection documents the oppression and enslavement of people of African and Caribbean descent. Papers within this collection may contain offensive terms or terms that have changed meaning over time.

The Gale and Morant Family Papers include correspondence, accounts and other papers (1731-1939) relating to the management of family-owned sugar plantations in Jamaica at the height of the Transatlantic Slave Trade. Many of these papers relate to the enslavement of people of African and Caribbean descent, which include lists; account books; and correspondence that provides insight into the living and working conditions on the plantations.

EUL MS 61 Glass plate negatives and photographs from the Library of the Imperial Institute, London [Language: English]

This collection of photographs was primarily used for teaching purposes by the staff of the Imperial Institute, and were mainly taken by amateur photographers during the 1920s to 1930s. The photographs cover an extensive range of subjects and activities from all parts of the former British Empire, with an emphasis on India and the African continent.

EUL MS 61 add. 1 Imperial institute: sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of the British Empire [Language: English]

This collection comprises sets of photographic cards and leaflets about products and industry of former British colonies, including Ceylon (present-day Sri Lanka), Trinidad, British Malaya (present-day Malaysia), British Guiana (present-day Guyana), British East Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Zanzibar, Tanganyika), British West Africa (present day The Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone), Jamaica, Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

EUL MS 196 Mike Weaver papers relating to modern American theatre [Language: English]

This small collection contains black and white photographs and press information/news releases relating to American stage productions c 1971-c 1980; and posters relating to American exhibitions and stage productions, 1966-1974; a street map of Passaic County, New Jersey; a general map of Passaic County, New Jersey; and one copy of 'Whitney Review', 1975-1976 (annual report of the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York).

EUL MS 304 Negatives relating to Edward Sheriff Curtis collection of photographs of American Indian culture [Language: English]

Assorted negatives relating to the Edward Curtis collection of photographs of American Indians, also known as Native Americans. Edward Sheriff Curtis (1868-1952) was an American photographer, who documented images of more than eighty American Indian tribes from throughout North America. The images were produced in a multiple volume limited edition study North American Indian (1907-1930), and were photographed over a thirty year period from 1895. [See also EUL MS 275 Photographs and display boards relating to exhibition on 'Visions of a vanishing race' by Edward Sheriff Curtis]

EUL MS 56 Records of the Santa Teresa Mine, Guadalajara, Mexico [Languages: Spanish, English]

The papers are the deeds of a series of mines in the Province of Guadalajara, Mexico, dated 1877, including many details on the mines themselves, such as plans. Also included are papers relating to the appointment of P G Kime of London as the attorney of J H Cardon of Hermasillo, Soura, Mexico, in 1898, who was charged with organising the sale of the mines.

EUL MS 62 Hubert Milner Brown papers relating to the North Uruguayan Railway Company [Language: English]

This collection consists of five photographs of the construction of the Northern Uruguayan railway, two other photographs of two men in local dress, a passport for Brown, dated 1887, his contract of employment, and a number of letters home to his parents while he was working in South America. There is also a balance sheet for the company for the year 1891.

EUL MS 389 Syon Abbey archive [Languages: primarily English, Latin and Portuguese, but also Dutch, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Swedish, Norwegian and Finnish]

The archive of the monastery includes correspondence with other Bridgettine communities around the world, including in Mexico and Venezuela.