Skip to Main Content

Special Collections: World Resources

The Arab World Documentation Unit (AWDU) is a reference-only collection that is housed in the Institute for Arab and Islamic Studies and contains some 100,000 items, mainly 20th century material relating to the Gulf, but with substantial holdings relating to the entire Middle East/SWANA region. AWDU provides unique collections on Arab Gulf states: Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, Yemen, United Arab Emirates as well as the wider Arab world including Egypt, Lebanon, Syria, Jordan. The collections are mainly documentary reference material such as statistical data, country reports, official publications, political opposition newsletters and Pan-Arab literature. The Unit holds archival, historical and sociological material from the mid-18th century onwards, such as the Bombay Diaries, as well as microfilms from British, American, Indian, French and Portuguese government archives and volumes of reproduced documents from the British Public Records Office published by Archive Editions. There are also important collections of private papers and diaries such as the valuable Uri Davis collection.

The Ghana Collection is based on Level -2 of the Old Library. It includes books, journals, pamphlets, government documents and microfiche.These are catalogued under the classmarks: Ghana Collection and Ghana Microfiche.

Online primary sources available throught the University Library, organised by geographic region

Contact Us or Give Feedback