Library Blog

  
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera. 

Key highlights include:

- The Pat Rocco Collection: Acquired from the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives, this collection features ephemora and correspondence from gay rights organizer and filmmaker Pat Rocco, documenting his impact in Southern California and Hawaii in the ‘60s and ‘70s. Includes letters from SPREE (The Society of Pat Rocco Enlightened Enthusiasts)
- The Jeanne Cordova Papers: The collection offers ephemera documenting the 1970’s activism of editor Jeanne Cordova. It includes correspondence regarding her magazine The Lesbian Tide, and other letters that provide insight into her role as a leader for Los Angeles-based LGBT and feminist movements.
- The Magnus Hirschfeld Collection:  Including the professional correspondence, publications, confidential reports, news clippings, court documents, and other materials from renowned German sex researcher Magnus Hirschfeld (1868–1935).

We have short term trial access to Gale Reference Complete. Access is available until 12 March 2021.

You can search across all content using the Cross Search tool, or you can explore the individual components, which consist of:

General research: current journals, newspapers, and periodicals

• Gale Academic OneFile - millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
• Gale General OneFile - general-interest periodical resource 
• Gale OneFile: News - access to more than 2,300 major regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Literature

• Cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
  • Literature Resource Center – up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
  • LitFinder – a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
  • Subcollections of eBook titles – including Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online – signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world
  • Something About the Author Online – engaging biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature
  • Contemporary Authors Online – current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors

Primary Sources

• Archives Unbound - includes approximately 360 collections. Broad topic clusters include African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian Studies, British history, Holocaust studies, LGBT studies, Latin America and Caribbean studies, Middle East studies, political science, religious studies, and women’s studies.

Feedback

We'd be interested in your feedback on this trial.  If it would be useful for your teaching or research, please send your feedback to your Liaison Librarian.

The MLA has created an online course to help students use the MLA International Bibliography.

They have just released the fifth module of the course, Literary topics.

• Sign up online (you'll need to create a new account) and find out how to perform searches on particular literary works and authors, as well as broader topics.
• The module should take around 45 minutes to complete.
• You'll need to use the MLA Bibliography to complete all aspects of the online course. You can access it here https://libguides.exeter.ac.uk/mla.

If you need any help using the MLA International Bibliography, please get in touch with your liaison librarian.

It’s World Poetry Day!

When planning for this day, we had no idea how circumstances would change and we’d find ourselves so remote from our library building and lovely library users.

But rest assured that we are still here to support you.  Get in touch by email or chat and keep an eye on our Library FAQ guide which we'll be keeping up to date with news and developments whilst we are all studying and working remotely because of the Coronavirus outbreak.

As for World Poetry Day?  We have loads of great poetry collections and commentary that you an access online.

We’ve created a poetry libguide so that we can showcase all the resources for you.  So dip in and take a look at what's available. 

Amongst other resources it will introduce you to our very latest poetry collections from our Adam Matthew research collection, including:

• Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape

Discover the working methods of Romantic poets and trace the evolution of celebrated verse. Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, providing access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers.

Find out more about this resource via: Adam Matthew Research Collection: Romanticism: Life literature and landscape

• Literary Manuscripts - Berg

The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, Covering a broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century.

Find out more about this resource via: Adam Matthew Research Collection: Literary Manuscripts Berg 

• Literary Manuscripts - Leeds

This resource offers literary scholars the opportunity to examine manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.

Find out more about this resource via: Adam Matthew Research Collection: Literary Manuscripts Leeds

And if you feel creative, why not write your own piece of poetry – it has to be better than our effort!

Take care, and do get in touch if you need any library support.  We are here to help.