Skip to Main Content

Finding and using library resources: Business School: 2. Where should I look?

Where?

 

Once you have decided what sort of research materials you want to work with, you can choose the best research tool to help you find that material.

 

There are two Library Research tools that will help you find print and electronic primary and secondary materials:

    Library Search 

    A-Z Databases

In addition, the Business Subject Guide provides details of core business resources and library information.

A-Z Databases Demo

A-Z Database Demonstration

 

A-Z Databases List

Business subject guide

The Business, Management, Accounting and Finance subject guide can be a great tool for finding relevant databases. The subject guide groups databases by the type of information that they specialise in (Academic research, company research, finance research, market research).

If you have identified the type of information you need, the Subject Guide makes finding the most appropriate databases simple.

Library Search - full size

Library Search

Library Search enables you to find high quality resources from a wide range of sources in a single search.

  • It is great as a starting point.
  • It covers all topics
  • If you are looking for a specific book or journal title, you can quickly find out if you have access 
  • If you are looking for a range of content on a particular topic you can find a large amount of full text material, drawn from across the databases available via the Library
  • In the vast majority of cases, the content you find will be immediately accessible in full text online

BUT - be aware that ...

  • It doesn’t cover every database, some specialist content needs to be searched separately.
  • It does not have all the advanced search options like the specialist databases. Some databases have in built thesauri and search histories for example, which can assist with complex search strategies
  • It does not provide personalisation/alert features. Some databases allow you to save and rerun searches or set up alert services for current awareness.

A- Z Databases

Library Search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. 

You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

To find databases, use the A-Z list.

See the next tab for help with finding the best databases for your topic.

 

You can browse or search the database list.   The description beneath each database title indicates the content and coverage of the database. 

 

A-Z List

 

Select databases by Subject

You can select your subject from the drop down Subjects menu to see a subset of resources in that category.

The subject listings will highlight the 'core resources'; these are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area.

Your Subject LibGuide will also highlight recommended databases for you to explore.

 

Select databases by Type

You can select a database type from the drop down Types menu to see a subset of resources in that category.

For example, you may want to focus on news or official publications etc

 

Research material can be drawn from a wide range of different types of information. You may wish to use specialist sources such as news items, statistical data, archival and audiovisual materials.

Find out more by visiting the Searching for specific types of information libguide. 

Contact Us or Give Feedback

University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0