Welcome to the Criminology LibGuide
Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research.
Take a look at some of the key databases highlighted on the adjacent tabs. These vast online databases enable you to quickly and easily search and discover content.
The following databases will help you discover material related to criminology and criminal justice. You have access to further resources via the Criminology subject list area in the A-Z Databases list.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject e.g. Criminology or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
You'll find talks on all sorts of other topics too. The latest and most popular talks are available from the TED homepage.
Below is a talk giving insights into 'How global crime networks work', delivered by Misha Glenny
You can use the following catalogues to search for material held at other libraries:
The European Library - gives access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your criminological research. As well as academic sources such as books and journals, criminal justice themes are addressed in government publications, news sources etc. Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching
|364||General Criminology Subjects|
|364.072||Research Methods in Criminology|
Here is an indication of some of the article topics related to Criminology and Criminal Justice within Oxford Handbooks Online.
Some examples include:
Use Library Search to find Journal Titles and articles that relate to your research/study area, drawn from a wide range of full text sources
For targeted searching, select a research database and explore the published literature in your field. Key databases are flagged above.
Find out more on the News LibGuide
Find out more in the Official Publications LibGuide.
Statistics is the science of collecting, analysing and presenting numerical data.
Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.
They can be a vital source of information for your studies.
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.