Welcome to the Politics & International Relations LibGuide
Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
The Library Search services will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
Search for print and online books, journals, articles + more. Library Search LibGuide available for guidance.
Penryn Library Search
Search the print and streaming media collections that you have access to at Penryn campus.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Finding Books & Journal Articles
JSTOR provides access to scholarly book, journal and primary sources via an easy to use search interface.
Use the How to Search JSTOR LibGuide for a general introduction to the service.
The Political Science Resources on JSTOR guide will introduce you to the content available in this area. The content covers all the major subfields of political science: American politics, comparative politics, international relations, political theory & philosophy, political behavior, public policy and law. The political science content includes journals published around the world, including concentrations in Middle East studies, India, and Asia.
JSTOR also has a Vimeo channel for educational and instructional videos. The following video shows you how to use ebooks on the JSTOR service.
This archive consists of numerous collections. Those available to you include
A Proquest Libguide for DNSA is available. Note that the guide covers all the collections on DNSA, and your full text access is to the subset of collections flagged above.
Further information about the National Security Archive is available via their website. Numerous freely available documents are available for browsing and searching, as well as a wealth or other information. The NSA is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at the George Washington University in the US. The NSA collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through Freedom of Information Act FOIA procedures.
Statista is a database that offers access to global statistics, data, graphs and infographics. Statista provides in-depth economic data on 120 countries; as well as political data and information on global companies and market trends. All data is available to download and Statista allows you to edit how your data is presented.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject , e.g. Politics or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.
More guidance on news and official publications sources is available via this guide and these can be valuable research resources in the field of Politics and International Relations.
COPAC - exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
SUNCAT - is the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK research community, a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
The Global Power Shift playlist playlist is a good starting point for understanding the sort of talks you'll find on TED.
You'll find talks on all sorts of other topics too. The latest and most popular talks are available from the TED homepage.
TED talks can be a great way to keep up to date with live issues in your area of research/study
You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your study and research.
As well as academic sources such as books and journals, you may wish to consult news sources, official publications, statistics etc.
Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching.
Find out more on the News LibGuide
Find out more in the Official Publications LibGuide.
The University has access to an extensive range of online primary source materials. These contain digitised copies of documents, letters, books, photographs and other primary sources.
The Primary Sources Libguide will help you identify the best databases for your research.
Statistics is the science of collecting, analysing and presenting numerical data.
Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.
They can be a vital source of information for your studies.
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Journals are key sources to use when carrying out research as they provide information on the latest research and cutting-edge knowledge in a subject.
This LibGuide will give you tips on finding and accessing articles using Library Search and the subject-specific databases.
Contact Us or Give Feedback