Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EAS2026 Desire and Power Library Research Guide: EEBO

This guide introduces you to the skills and resources required for effective library research for Module EAS2026

 

Click below for a video guide to EEBO:

Please note: In order to search the full document text of items in EEBO, you will need to change the drop down box next to the search box from 'Anywhere except full text' to 'Anywhere'

EEBO - Early English Books Online

EEBO is an excellent resource for primary research.

It contains full-texts of early printed books from the 16th and 17th centuries.

You can view the material as originally published, in order to appreciate the text in its original form and also examine similarities and differences between variant versions of the texts.

Comprehensive online help is available to help you make the most of the service.

 

Please note: In order to search the full document text of items in EEBO, you will need to change the drop down box next to the search box from 'Anywhere except full text' to 'Anywhere'

Starting from the EEBO Home Screen select the Advanced Search option and complete the search form.

Please note: In order to search the full document text of items in EEBO, you will need to change the drop down box next to the search box from 'Anywhere except full text' to 'Anywhere'

You can use the Look up Authors option to help you complete the search form.

 

The illustration below shows you how to Look for and select Shakespeare from the list

Once you have selected the author click Add to search to continue.

You can also enter your own search terms into a box without using the Look up feature.

In this example, add to your search by manually entering  richard third into the Document Title box

Click on Search once you have added all your search concepts.

You do not just have to search by author and/or title.

You could search by themes such as cunning, disguise, despair, intrigue etc. and discover how these themes appear in the literature across the database. You can add these to the keywords search box.

Please note: In order to search the full document text of items in EEBO, you will need to change the drop down box next to the search box from 'Anywhere except full text' to 'Anywhere'

Once you have run your search you will see a list of matching search results.

If you retrieve too many results you can go back and Refine your search

You can also choose the most relevant results, by using the checkboxes and adding them to your Marked List.

You have a two different view display options either Full Text PDF or Image full text.

Not all formats are available for each item - they will vary between items.

You can adjust the image size if you wish to analyse it in greater detail.

For further information on how to use EEBO, please visit the links below:

EEBO libguide

EEBO webinar tutorial (44 mins)

Sample searches - examples of searching by keyword, author, etc.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us