LibGuides: EAS2026 Desire and Power Library Research Guide: Additional primary sources

Search across primary source collections

AM Explorer (Formerly Adam Matthew Explorer) This link opens in a new window Search across all Adam Matthew's unique primary source products for the social sciences and humanities.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Cross-search all of the Gale primary source collections in one go. Content dates from 16th Century onwards and includes monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. Date coverage: 16th -20th century

Other primary sources online

As well as Early English Books Online (EEBO), you could also try searching Early English Prose Fiction, which contains works by Thomas Nashe and Philip Sidney.

Early English Prose Fiction This link opens in a new window English prose fiction from 1500 to 1700, including works by John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn.

Other primary sources from the time period include:

State Papers Online This link opens in a new window Digitised manuscripts of British government papers from 1509 to 1782. Content includes correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts. Parts I-IV Early Modern and Parts I-IV 18th Century available: Parts I & II: The Tudors, 1509-1603 Henry VIII-Elizabeth I . Parts III & IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714 . C18 Parts I-IV: 1714-1782, papers domestic and foreign Stuart and Cumberland papers from the Royal Archives
Enhanced access: Parts I-IV Early Modern, Parts I-IV 18th Century, Stuart and Cumberland papers now available.
Cecil Papers‎ This link opens in a new window The Cecil Papers is a major collection of early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI. More than 150,000 pages have been digitised in full colour to create a definitive online archive of almost 30,000 manuscript documents written by some of the most significant figures of Elizabethan and Jacobean history. These are accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers, featuring summaries and/or transcripts of many documents and two eighteenth-century volumes of selected transcriptions.

University of Exeter Special Collections and Archives

The Library's Special Collections department houses primary sources in many formats including letters, diaries, manuscripts and photos, which can be accessed via their dedicated reading room in the Research Commons, Old Library.

Visit the Archives and Special Collections LibGuide, and the Early Modern resources page in particular, for more information.

Use the Archive Catalogue Search to find out what is available.