LibGuides: Legal Research Guide: Maritime &amp; Commercial: Home

Finding Resources Using Library Search

Library Search

Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.

Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

I want to look at ...

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject e.g. Law or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

These online databases will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research.

Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.

i-law This link opens in a new window Access to to Dispute Resolution, Insurance & Reinsurance and Maritime & Commercial modules on i-law.com. You can search other modules but full text is not available. Contains case law, legislation, commentary and legal analysis.
Login Help

i-law is a vast online database of commercial law knowledge from Informa Publishing, containing thousands of pages from many trusted legal sources.
At Exeter you have access to all content in the Maritime and Commercial, Insurance & Reinsurance, and the Dispute Resolution practice areas. You will not be able to view the other sources that are part of i-law.com Tip - You can restrict your search to just the Lloyd’s titles within our subscription via the advanced search.
Available Case Law: Lloyd’s Law Reporter / Reports / Reports Plus / Insurance and Reinsurance Reports
Available Journal: Lloyd’s Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly
Maritime and Commercial practice area with titles such as Bills of Lading, Commercial Shipping Handbook, Dictionary of Shipping Terms, Time Charters and many more.
Insurance & Reinsurance Reports with titles such as Law of Insurance Contracts, Insurance Disputes, A guide to Reinsurance Law and many more.
Dispute Resolution practice area with titles such as Arbitration Law, Practice and Procedure of the Commercial Court, A Practical Guide to International Arbitration in London and much more
Comprehensive online help and support is also available.

See the i-law guide for advice on logging in and searching i-law.
You need to set up a personal account on i-law before you can use the service.

Oil, Gas & Energy Law (OGEL) portal This link opens in a new window Access to Oil, Gas & Energy Law (OGEL) peer-reviewed academic journal, OGELFORUM; and Legal & Regulatory database. Useful for commentary, news and materials on legal aspects of oil, gas and energy,
You will have to identify yourself with your University of Exeter email address for this Journal You will receive a message with instructions that you will have to follow. Please read and follow the instructions in the message you receive from OGEL, especially if you access OGEL when you are not on campus.

Transnational Dispute Management / OGEMID This link opens in a new window
International arbitration, mediation and ADR, international investment law and Transnational Dispute Management materials. Includes access to:
OGEMID, the TDM journal and the legal & regulatory database.

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject e.g. Law or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

You will find these three key general legal databases in the Law listing and these are useful for research across all areas of law.

Lexis+

Lexis has the full text of law reports, legislation, journals for the UK, US and other jurisdictions. It also includes legal commentary from the publisher Butterworths, including the case-law encyclopedia Halsbury’s Laws and the Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents.
Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce is available in full text
International materials are also available
See more information on the Lexis Guide

Westlaw

Westlaw provides full text access to law reports, legislation and journals for the UK, US and other international jurisdictions.
Several reference works published by Sweet & Maxwell are also available in full text - see the Books option.
The Legal Journals Index on Westlaw indexes articles from over 400 legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe, and is essential for finding articles on a particular topic.
Westlaw offers various research tools, including ‘case analysis’ which shows the history and subsequent treatment of individual UK cases.
International materials are also available via Westlaw International.
See more information on the Westlaw Guide

The Lasok Law library arranges print books according to the Moys Legal Classification.

Books about commercial law are found at KN 250 and maritime law can be found in the KN330 - KN 339 classmarks.

Use Library Search to look for print and electronic books

There are also a number of free online services that will help you trace case law, legislation and treaties from around the world - including from jurisdictions not covered on our subscription services such as Lexis and Westlaw.

BAILII for British and Irish Legal Sources

Worldlii for global legal sources, includes a maritime law section

UN for international law, including Oceans and the Laws of the Sea

UNCITRAL the core legal body of the United Nations system in the field of international trade law

International tribunal for the Law of the Sea a specialised tribunal to deal with disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the UN Convention on the LAw of the Sea

International Maritime Organization a specialized agency of the United Nations, IMO is the global standard-setting authority for the safety, security and environmental performance of international shipping.

Admiralty and Maritimer Law Guide includes over 1,500 annotated links to admiralty law resources on the Internet and a growing database of admiralty case digests, opinions and international maritime conventions

Institute of Maritime Law a leading world centre for research, consultancy and training in maritime law, based at University of Southampton