Skip to main content

Law: Westlaw

Westlaw Database Guide

About Westlaw

Westlaw is a major legal database used in legal pratice and for academic legal research.

Westlaw UK provides access to  UK case law, legislation, journals. books and other secondary legal information sources including:

  • Legal Journals Index which holds details of  articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe, and is great for discovering academic discussion of legal topics.

  • Many full text commentary titles, including the Common Law Library Titles and many more standard works such as: Chitty on Contract & Clark and Lindsell on Torts.

Westlaw International Materials provides access to non UK legal materials.  Coverage includes international legal materials from ICJ and organisations such as WTO/GATT, WIPO, UNICTRAL.  Access is also availanble to primary and secondary legal sources such as case law, legislation and journal articles from various jurisdictions, including EU, US, Australia and Canada - plus others.

 

Logging in to Westlaw uk

Logging in to Westlaw UK for the first time

Login to Westlaw UK with your usual University login. The first time you login to Westlaw you will be prompted to create a Thomson Reuters account for access.  Add your name details and Exeter email address as prompted and you will then be able to continue to the databases. 

For future visits to Westlaw you just need to login with your University login.

Non UK materials are accessed via the Westlaw International Materials link

Westlaw International Materials

Login to Westlaw International Materials with your usual University login. 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us