Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.
Use these links for some sample searches on the catalogue which use the following search terms:
Look at the Refine by limits.
Note how you can refine your search results by language and other limits
Have a think about other topics/themes that you want to explore and run some searches for those.
You will be able to try all sorts of different keywords as you learn more about the works of the early church fathers as you move through your module.
A range of different titles are flagged here.
There are many more available to you, so do use Library Search to discover lots more content. Click on the book covers for access / location.
Check your module readings in ELE for recommended titles
The Early Christian Fathers by
There is now a wide and growing appreciation of the value and relevance of the writings of the Fathers of the early Church, even for non-academic readers, and particularly for all who wish to understand Christian doctrine. The authors represented in the volume, first published in 1956, arethe principal writers of the Church in the Roman Empire from the period immediately after the New Testament down to the age of Constantine and the council of Nicaea (AD 325). They include St Ignatius of Antioch, St Justin, Tertullian, St Irenaeus, St Clement of Alexandra, Origen, St Cyprian, and StAthanasius. Bettenson has selected passages to display as fully as possible the thought of the early Fathers, especially on the great doctrinal themes, and has himself translated them afresh, with brief annotation where necessary.
Early Christian Thought by
The shape and course which Christian thought has taken over its history is largely due to the contributions of individuals and communities in the second and third centuries. Bringing together a remarkable team of distinguished scholars, The Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought is the ideal companion for those seeking to understand the way in which Early Christian thought developed within its broader cultural milieu and was communicated through its literature, especially as it was directed toward theological concerns. Divided into three parts, the Companion: asks how Christianity's development was impacted by its interaction with cultural, philosophical, and religious elements within the broader context of the second and third centuries. examines the way in which Early Christian thought was manifest in key individuals and literature in these centuries. analyses Early Christian thought as it was directed toward theological concerns such as God, Christ, Redemption, Scripture, and the community and its worship.
The Fathers of the Church by
Good, solid, contemporary introductions to patristic authors and writings are difficult to find in the English-speaking world, and European volumes are expensive. This volume, which is Siegfried Schatzmann's translation of Lehrbuch der Patrologie, offers English-speaking readers easy access to Hubertus R. Drobner's traditional introduction to early Christian thought.
The Hope of the Early Church by
This comprehensive survey, based on Christian texts in the Greek, LAtin, Syriac, Coptic, and Armenian traditions fromt he second century through Gregory the Great and John of Damascus, is already well known to biblical scholars, church historians, theologians, and other studnets of the history of Christian thought. Appearing for the first time in an affordable, paperback edition, it now becomes available to students and to contemporary believers, who hope it aims to nourish and stir up by acquainting them with the faith of the their forebears in Christ.
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies by
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies responds to and celebrates the explosion of research in this inter-disciplinary field over recent decades. As a one-volume reference work, it provides an introduction to the academic study of early Christianity (c. 100-600 AD) and examines thevast geographical area impacted by the early church, in Western and Eastern late antiquity. It is thematically arranged to encompass history, literature, thought, practices, and material culture. It contains authoritative and up-to-date surveys of current thinking and research in the varioussub-specialties of early Christian studies, written by leading figures in the discipline. The essays orientate readers to a given topic, as well as to the trajectory of research developments over the past 30-50 years within the scholarship itself. Guidance for future research is also given. Eachessay points the reader towards relevant forms of extant evidence (texts, documents, or examples of material culture), as well as to the appropriate research tools available for the area.This volume will be useful to advanced undergraduate and post-graduate students, as well as to specialists in any area who wish to consult a brief review of the 'state of the question' in a particular area or sub-specialty of early Christian studies, especially one different from their own.
You can search the internet to find relevant books.
The Hathi Trust holds many relevant digitised texts.
Take a look and search for works by some of the Fathers you are interested in. For example:
To support your studies for this module you will want to look at primary texts and secondary sources such as journal commentaries, research monographs and/or reference works.
You can find all these materials using Library Search. Some materials are available in the original language, and others in English translation.
Also take a look at the Writings of the Fathers tab where the primary source maerials are highlighted for ease of reference. Sometimes it can be difficult to locate the primary sources amongst works of commentary when searching for relevant materials.
As well as topic searching, you will find it useful to search and view catalogue results for the Church Fathers you are studying. Just enter their name into the Library Search box.
Try some searching of your own using some of the key authors for your module. You'll find a quick list below
You may find it useful to browse titles from book series of relevance to Patristics including:
Just enter the book series into Library Search if there are any other series you would like to explore
Both services are search engines which crawl the web for materials.
The focus of the Books service is book materials and dissertations. Copyright free material will be available to view in full, other titles will be available in bibliographic format only with some limited search functionality.
The focus of the Scholar service is journal articles and you will be linked to publisher sites and open access materials. You can configure the Scholar settings so that you are linked through to the full text of journal titles that are accessible to you through the University. You can discover some book series titles, particularly annual volume series titles
Take a look at the Making the most of Google Scholar guide for guidance on adjusting the settings of this search engine. By adjusting your settings you will give yourself the best chance of finding full text materials when searching on Google Scholar.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
