For quick background research into a topic.
Dictionaries and encyclopedia introduce you to new terms and concepts
For in depth scholarly analysis into research topics. Major specialist reference sources help by
examining topics in depth through research reviews, essays and analyses.
directing you to key publications from scholars in the field through bibliographies and literature guides
Use the Library Research Tools to discover all the reference material available to you.
Library Search
Use Library Search to find specific reference titles on the catalogue or to view full text reference records through Articles + More
Databases A-Z
Use the Database A-Z list to view all the database sources that are available to you.
The Cambridge History of Early Christian Literature by
The writings of the Church Fathers form a distinct body of literature that shaped the early church and built upon the doctrinal foundations of Christianity established within the New Testament. Christian literature in the period c.100-c.400 constitutes one of the most influential textual oeuvres of any religion. Written mainly in Greek, Latin and Syriac, Patristic literature emanated from all parts of the early Christian world and helped to extend its boundaries. The History offers a systematic account of that literature and its setting. The works of individual writers in shaping the various genres of Christian literature is considered, alongside three general essays, covering distinct periods in the development of Christian literature, which survey the social, cultural and doctrinal context within which Christian literature arose and was used by Christians. This is a landmark reference book for scholars and students alike.
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by
Offers information about Early Christianity and late antiquity, from the earliest days of the Church, with coverage of the patristic period, to the period of John Damascene in the East and Bede in the West. This title includes a section of 44 coloured maps and over 300 pictures, many in colour.
Handbook of Patristic Exegesis by
Through this comprehensive Handbook, the reader will obtain a balanced and cohesive picture of the Early Church. It gives an overall view of the reception, transmission, and interpretation of the Bible in the life and thought of the Church during the first five centuries of Christianity. This one volume edition is an unabridged version of the two volume edition published in 2004 (no longer available).
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies by
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies responds to and celebrates the explosion of research in this inter-disciplinary field over recent decades. As a one-volume reference work, it provides an introduction to the academic study of early Christianity (c. 100-600 AD) and examines thevast geographical area impacted by the early church, in Western and Eastern late antiquity. It is thematically arranged to encompass history, literature, thought, practices, and material culture. It contains authoritative and up-to-date surveys of current thinking and research in the varioussub-specialties of early Christian studies, written by leading figures in the discipline. The essays orientate readers to a given topic, as well as to the trajectory of research developments over the past 30-50 years within the scholarship itself. Guidance for future research is also given. Eachessay points the reader towards relevant forms of extant evidence (texts, documents, or examples of material culture), as well as to the appropriate research tools available for the area.This volume will be useful to advanced undergraduate and post-graduate students, as well as to specialists in any area who wish to consult a brief review of the 'state of the question' in a particular area or sub-specialty of early Christian studies, especially one different from their own.
Remember to use Library Search in order to discover many more reference titles relating to to the writings of the early church authors.