LibGuides: Films, DVDs and Videos: Streamed (online) film collections

Streamed film collections

Our streamed films can be accessed by clicking on the links below, your Subject Guide or via A to Z Database list.

Streamed collections by theme

BFI Player This link opens in a new window
On demand service streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films from across Britain and the world. The collection focuses on British and European independent films, as well as international releases. First time users need to sign up to access all subscription content for free. Returning users need to sign-in. See More.
To sign up
1. Go to https://player.bfi.org.uk/students and create an account OR sign in if you already have one by selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'
2. Select university from the dropdown list
3. Authenticate subscription using your university log-in

Once you've set up your subscription, you can simply login on BFI Player for the remainder of this academic year.

Subscription Content - Available to all University of Exeter staff and students. You just need to register to access this content.

Details on how to do this can be found here:

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
An online service for off-air recording, media streaming and archiving of TV and radio programmes from all scheduled free to air broadcast channels. BoB provides a facility for recording, creating clips and playlists of programmes.
ERA Video Streaming Platform This link opens in a new window
Curated clips from BBC TV and Radio archive. Browse by subject or search for clips across the archive. UK Usage only
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Online video streaming platform. Includes critically-acclaimed movies, inspiring documentaries, award-winning foreign films and more. Films are discoverable via Library Search.

British Council Film Collection This link opens in a new window
Short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s, designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.
British Pathe This link opens in a new window
Archive of vintage film footage covering 20th century UK domestic and worldwide themes, events and news. Date coverage: 1897-1970
FedFlix This link opens in a new window
Historic American Government produced films covering information, news, public affairs and training.
Gallica - The BnF Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF). This vast digital library collection includes more than 70,000 volumes of digitised texts, 80,000 still images, and 30 hours of sound recordings.
National Archives: Public Information Films This link opens in a new window
UK Government commissioned Public Information Films from 1945 to 2006
Provides insight into government advice, and societal concerns and events during this period.
BFI Player This link opens in a new window
On demand service streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films from across Britain and the world. The collection focuses on British and European independent films, as well as international releases. First time users need to sign up to access all subscription content for free. Returning users need to sign-in. See More.
To sign up
1. Go to https://player.bfi.org.uk/students and create an account OR sign in if you already have one by selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'
2. Select university from the dropdown list
3. Authenticate subscription using your university log-in

Once you've set up your subscription, you can simply login on BFI Player for the remainder of this academic year.

BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource This link opens in a new window
Audiovisual resource. Play over 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets. UK Usage Only
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.
Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection This link opens in a new window
Live performances of four classic plays by Oscar Wilde.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Filmed productions, documentaries, interviews and criticism.
Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy This link opens in a new window
Harriet Walter leads an all-female cast in these three productions of Julius Caesar, Henry IV and The Tempest, all set in a women's prison. This collection also features 40 short videos on the plays and stagecraft behind behind each production.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Full text plays, filmed live performance, interviews, study guides, theatre craft and performance context and criticism. The Core Collection includes Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and Arden collection of full text plays and associated commentaries. The National Theatre Collection, Screen Online and LA Works collections can be accessed from here.
Exeter Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Search across the Exeter Digital Archives collection. Film and video collection on
contemporary performance practice.
Access via VPN if off-campus
Maxine Peake as Hamlet This link opens in a new window
Filmed production of Shakespeare’s most iconic work with gender-blind casting and Maxine Peake as Hamlet.
National Theatre Collection 1 This link opens in a new window
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection makes this rich body of work available to students in schools, universities and libraries around the world.
On the Boards TV This link opens in a new window
OntheBoards.tv delivers full-length contemporary performance films
RSC Live Collection 2 (2018-2019) This link opens in a new window
Collection of RSC Live Shakespeare productions performed in 2018 and 2019.

JoVE This link opens in a new window
Online videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories at top research institutions.

Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
A wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behaviour. Support research into human culture and behaviour
Anthropology Resource Library This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Resource Library provides comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. Access and cross search across all the collections available in the Anthropology Resource Library: Anthropological Fieldwork Online Ethnographic Sound Archives Online Anthropology Online Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement This link opens in a new window
Focusing on the disabled community and its contributions to society, this collection includes primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The archive can be searched or browsed by place, people, publisher, organisation and discipline.
Ethnomusicology This link opens in a new window
Presenting content from across the globe, this diverse and comprehensive resource features thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, videos and other content as well as a question bank of thousands of questions in basic science and clinical medicine. Create an account and undertake customised tests focusing on your weak areas of study. To log in, click "log in via institution" and then enter University of Exeter.

BBC Sound Effects This link opens in a new window
Over 16,000 sound effects available for personal, educational or research purposes.
British Library Sounds This link opens in a new window
Sound recordings from the British Library collections. Recordings include music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds as well as an interactive sound map of regional accents and dialect.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. The collection brings together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s—the dawn of ethnomusicology as a codified discipline.
Ethnomusicology This link opens in a new window
Presenting content from across the globe, this diverse and comprehensive resource features thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera.
Gallica - The BnF Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF). This vast digital library collection includes more than 70,000 volumes of digitised texts, 80,000 still images, and 30 hours of sound recordings.
L.A. Theatre Works - Audio Plays This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 400 audio plays specially recorded by LA Theatre Works. Recordings include plays written in the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.
Litterature audio.com This link opens in a new window
Freely available French audiobooks, supporting language acquisition skills.
London Broadcasting Company / Independent Radio News audio archive This link opens in a new window
Digitised reel to reel recordings from the London Broadcasting Company / Independent Radio News audio archive. News and current affairs coverage from 1973 to the mid-1990s.
You will need to Login to download the audio files. Select University of Exeter from the list given, then enter your usual username & password.
America in World War Two : Oral Histories and Personal Accounts This link opens in a new window
Uncover the stories of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War through their oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,162 authors giving a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Contains contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives. Also includes some audio files with the voices of the immigrants.
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window
The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center includes around 700 interview transcriptions with those who were active in the US civil rights movement (1950's-1973).