Skip to main content

Films, DVDs and Videos: Finding and viewing films

Guidance on finding and using films in the library collections

Films, DVDs and Videos

Watching films online

You can access many films online. .

Use the following services for access.

Login with your University username and password, where prompted.

Film Studies Resources

Use the Film Studies LibGuide for guidance and support

Key research databases include

Film Collection FAQs

How do I?

Borrow an External DVD drive

Forum library now has 6 loanable USB DVD drives.  The loan period is seven days to match the DVDs.  They can be used with Open Access PCs or your own device. (PC, laptop etc.)  Please ask at the Forum Library Enquiry Desk to borrow.

  • The DVD collection is on Level -1, Forum Library, in the Journals area.

  • All library users can borrow DVDs (staff, PGs, UGs, external borrowers)

  • Issue DVDs using self-service machines near the entrance on Level 0.

  • Return DVDs using the return machines at the front of the Forum Library.

  • You can borrow up to 4 DVDs at one time.

  • You can borrow DVDs for 7 days from the Forum Library DVD collection

  • You can renew DVDs if no-one else reserves them. 

There are two different types of videos available. These are clearly identified when using Library Search as Commercial videos and Cage videos

1. Commercial videos

  • The commercial video collection is held on level -1 in the Journals area of the Forum Library. 
  • Staff and PGs may borrow commercial videos from the Forum Library Help Point. 
  • There is no self issue service for videos

2. Cage videos

  • Cage videos are material which has been recorded during broadcast by the University for academic purposes only.

  • They appear via Library Search as Off air video, plus an identification number.

  • The Cage video collection is a closed collection 

  • If you wish to borrow any of these items you need to request them at least 24 hours in advance.

  • Please submit an Online Cage Video Request.

How long can I borrow videos for?

  • Staff and PGs can borrow videos for 7 days

  • UGs are not allowed to take videos out of the Library, but can view videos in the Forum Library.

Can I view the Videos in the Forum Library?

  • Yes, this service is available by request, for student, staff and external library users.

  • There are two DVD / VHS Viewing Stations on Level -1 of the Forum library, next to Group Study Room C.

  • These are available on a first come first served basis.

 

 

 

Use Library Search to quickly search for film titles in online, DVD and/or video format.

Library Search

Use the Refine by options on the left of the search screen to limit your search to 

  • Format: select projected medium to discover films in all formats
  • Location: use this if you want to discover films in a particular location - e.g. at the Forum Library

Search example

 

Forum Library, DVD and VHS viewing

There are two DVD / VHS viewing stations in the Forum Library, on Level -1 adjacent to Group Study Room C.  These are available on a first-come first-served basis.  Please ask at the Forum Library Help Point and we can show you where they are and lend you a remote control if required.  Please use your own headphones.

The all in one computers in the Forum Library do not have DVD drives.

Borrow an External DVD drive

Forum library now has 6 loanable USB DVD drives.  The loan period is seven days to match the DVDs.  They can be used with Open Access PCs or your own device. (PC, laptop etc.)  Please ask at the Forum Library Enquiry Desk to borrow.

Old Library, DVD viewing

Computers in the Old Library have DVD drives.  Please use your own headphones.

Other PC clusters:

Computers have DVD drives.  Please use your own headphones

Queens B

Amory Hub

Devonshire House – The Loft

Streatham Court 0.93

Washington Singer 220

Hatherly B12

1. Arrange a resource list of screenings

  • To guarantee availability of films for the duration of your module, submit a complete list of those you will want to screen before the start of your module so that they can be prepared for you

  • Send in a word or .pdf document with the list telling us the bibliographic details for the film, dates for the screenings and the module code to the Resource List Team   

  • You can send us a list which contains both your screenings and the resources for your module so that  both can be arranged for your module. 

  • Find out more about getting your reading list digitised

‚Äč

2. Individual Films for Screening

  • To arrange an individual film for a screening, please submit an online screening request.

  • Requests must be submitted at least two weeks in advance of the date needed:

  • If we receive this less than two weeks before needed we cannot guarantee that we can provide the flm. 

  • We will confirm your request via email.

 

3. Collection of material
 

  • Please collect DVDs or videos with enough time to test and ensure they will play correctly.

  • Material should be collected from the Forum Library between 8AM -6PM Monday - Friday.

  • Please have your Library card with you.

  • It is also important that you know the relevant module code.

Loading ...

DVD / VHS viewing stations - Forum Library

There are two DVD / VHS viewing stations in the Forum Library, on Level -1 adjacent to Group Study Room C.  These are available on a first-come first-served basis.  Please ask at the Forum Library Help Point and we can show you where they are and lend you a remote control if required.  Please use your own headphones.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us