Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Imaging Effective Library Research: 3. Where should I look?

Online tutorial introducing you to the skills and techniques needed for effective library research

Develop your knowledge of the library research tools by working through the Library Search and database information.

Library Search Demos

A-Z Databases Activities

 

Once you have decided what sort of research materials you want to work with, you can choose the best research tool to help you find that material. There are two Library Research tools that will help you find material. These are Library search and the A-Z database list.

 

 

Library Search

Library Search

A search for 'clinical AND imaging' in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts and commentary.

This search finds matches in book and journal titles.  For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.

A search for 'contrast injection AND CT examinations' in Library Search Articles + more returns the following results. 

In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles that match your search terms.

Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

A- Z Databases

Library Search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. 

You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

To find databases, use the A-Z list.

See the next tab for help with finding the best databases for your topic.

 

Each entry in the A-Z database list has an information icon. Hover over that symbol for information about the content that is available in the database and an idea of why it might be useful for research purposes. Shown below is the information for Medline (PubMed), which is a valuable medical imaging research database.

You can scroll through the A-Z and choose a database if you know exactly what you are looking for.

Alternatively, you can select your subject from the drop down subject menu to see a subset of resources in that category.

The subject listings will highlight the 'core resources'; these are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area.

 

Research material can be drawn from a wide range of different types of information. You may wish to use specialist sources such as anatomy resources, news items and statistical data.

Find out more by visiting the Searching for specific types of information libguide

Contact Us