Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Finding and using library resources: 3. Where should I look?

Online tutorial introducing you to the skills and techniques needed for effective library research

Once you have decided what sort of research materials you want to work with, you can choose the best research tool to help you find that material. There are two Library Research tools that will help you find print and electronic primary and secondary materials:

1. Library Search

2. A-Z Databases

Don't just use Google for information!

Google will find lots of information and is a great tool for examining certain kinds of material such as blogs and other openly accessible web resources.  However, the information you find will vary greatly in terms of accuracy, currency bias etc. Always evaluate the material for research quality.

As well as containing information that is not exposed through Google, the Library research tools also allow you to be more precise with your searching as they offer specialist research database features to improve your research discovery.

If you are using Google Scholar, there are a number of settings you can change in order to improve your search experience.  Find out more on the Making the most of Google Scholar Libguide.

Think of Library Search and the databases as complementary research tools and choose whichever best needs your needs as you move through your research.


Library Search Activities
 

Run some searches on your topic area

Test your knowledge with the

Library Search Quiz

Watch some short

Library Search Videos

 

Database A-Z: Self test activities

Watch the Database A-Z Video demo

 

Complete the Database A-Z tutorial to put your knowledge into practice.


Database A-Z Tutorial

 

 

1. Library Search

Library Search is  a good starting point for introductory material for your dissertation research.

You can search for your research topic(s) and quickly and easily retrieve details of print and electronic books, journal articles and other full text material.

You can also use it to check whether we have particular books or journals you may discover during your literature searching.

Library Search

When you use Library Search you will see search results via two tabs

1. Catalogue

2. Articles + more

A search for youth culture in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts.

This search finds matches in book and journal titles (and in brief details such as subject terms, contents page listing details).  For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.

A search for 'theory in social and cultural anthropology' in Library Search Articles + more returns the following results. 

In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles that match your search terms.

Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

You can also use Library Search to check on the availability of print and online journal titles.

To search for journal titles, just enter some/all of the journal title into the library Search box and then browse the Catalogue tab to check for access.

A search for anthropology journal returns the following catalogue results. You can browse through the list and click on the titles for access.

anthropology journal search results

In this example for the Cambridge Journal of Anthropology you can see that online coverage of this journal is available from more than one online service.

You will often find that journal coverage is split across different services - with current journal issues and archive journal issues often being available separately.  The date range information will help you decide which journal site to visit.

2. Finding Resources using the A- Z Databases List

Library Search is a good starting point for finding material on topic. 

However, if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. 

You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

Sometimes you will need specialist types of material which are not available via Library Search - will primarily provides book and journal content information.

All the databases are available via the A-Z list.  See the guidance on the Research Databases tab for guidance on recommended databases for your subject

Each entry in the A-Z database list has an information icon. Hover over that symbol for information about the content that is available in the database and an idea of why it might be useful for research purposes. Shown below is the information for Project Muse, which is a valuable humanities research database.

You can scroll through the A-Z and choose a database if you know exactly what you are looking for.

Select databases by Subject

You can select your subject from the drop down subject menu to see a subset of resources in that category.

The subject listings will highlight the 'core resources'; these are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area.

Your Subject LibGuide will also highlight recommended databases for you to explore

Select databases by Type

You can select a database type from the drop down type menu to see a subset of resources in that category.

For example, you may want to focus on news, official publications or reference works databases

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us