Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classics and Ancient History: finding and using library resources for assignments: 4. Research databases

Online tutorial introducing you to the skills and techniques needed for effective library research

 

Research databases contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings.

These records usually include the article title, authors, abstract (a brief summary), keywords (to enable your search to find it) and more.

Databases for your subject

The databases for your subject are:

Core databases and resources for Classics and Ancient History

  

 

This is the core bibliographical tool for finding journal articles and book chapters for classics, classical archaeology and ancient history. 

This database provides information about articles and chapters, but does not provide full text access the actual items. You can use the Check for this @ Exeter button to see whether you can get access, either in full text or online. See the Searching Annee Philologique activity for details on how to do this.

The following resources are useful for full text access to Greek and Latin works, as well as translations:

Greek language resources

Latin language resources

You can access the Oxford Latin dictionary via Oxford Scholarly Editions.

Latin and Greek texts with English translations

The following resources are useful for introductions to Classical topics:

Finding full text

Remember:

 

  • Some databases provide full text access to the articles themselves.
  • Some databases are primarily indexes or bibliographic databases, and although they provide information about the content of a journal article, they may not provide full-text access to the actual article itself.
  • Some databases are a mixture of full-text and indexed/bibliographic access.

 

So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step. 

After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online.  Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.

 

For more information and top tips on finding the full text, see the How to access full text articles libguide.

Contact Us