LibGuides: Classics and Ancient History: finding library resources for assignments: What information do I need?

You are likely to use a combination of different types of resources in order to fully explore the topic you are interested in.

See the following tabs to help you decide what kind of information you are looking for.

For overviews and introductions to key topics and arguments, resources such as handbooks, companions, dictionaries, encylopedias and bibliographies can be great starting points.

Here are some to explore:

New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window Full text access to the New Pauly encyclopaedia of the ancient world. Access to supplements is also included. Provides brief introductions to Classical topics and authors from Antiquity to the Middle Ages.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Go to Subject > Arts and Humanities > Classical Studies to browse the range of handbooks in this area.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research guides on a variety of academic topics. Use it for short introductions and in depth bibliographies on relevant topics. Go to Browse by Subject > Classics, or search for your topic.
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window Fully searchable online access to the OCD. Use for short definitions of and introductions to Classical topics
Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window Biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of texts written by these authors and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters. Covers English, American, German, Russian, Italian, French and Classical literatures, with increasing coverage of other world literature.

Scholarly or academic journals go through a "peer review" process, where a panel of experts assesses the article before it is approved for publication.

The majority of the journals available via the library are in digital format. This means they are available to you any time, any place and ensures you can access the latest journal issues as soon as they are published.

How to find journal articles

Use Library Search to find out which articles have appeared in your research area.
Use research databases such as L'Année Philologique, JSTOR, and others from the A-Z Databases list. Find out more in the Research databases section of this guide.

Greek

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window A collection of most texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium and beyond.
Please note: all users now need to register an individual username and password on TLG's website for full access to all content.
Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek Online This link opens in a new window English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new window Brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek language and linguistics
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum This link opens in a new window Greek epigraphy research resource. Contains newly published Greek inscriptions and publications on previously known documents. Full text of all new inscriptions with critical apparatus.
Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window Online edition of the revised Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker by Felix Jacoby. It is the collected fragmentary works of hundreds of Greek historians, complete with commentary.

Latin

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae Online This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Latin dictionary covering the language from the earliest times to 600AD.
Currently unavailable due to delayed platform migration. De Gruyter are aiming to have this completed on the 1st March.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window LLT A and B collections of thousands of Latin texts from Antiquity to the 20th Century. Use it to cross-search and read Latin texts from leading editions.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window Full text major works of poetry, prose and drama. Classical Latin and Greek literature, plus literature from the 15th to the 19th centuries are included. Read major works of literature online alongside explanatory notes and details of variations in the text.

You can access the Oxford Latin dictionary via Oxford Scholarly Editions.

Latin and Greek texts with English translations

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Full text, cross-searchable complete collection of the Loeb classical editions in Latin and Greek.

The following guides will highlight the key resources for these areas of study: