Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classics and Ancient History Subject Guide: Art & Architecture

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

Art and Architecture Resources

Photo by Egisto Sani CC BY-NC 2.0

Image Databases

These are the key image databases for Classical Art & Architecture.

Images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Search for artists, archaeological sites, museums, topics etc.

Introductions to artists, archaeological sites, architectural terms, etc. Not all entries have images, though the resource provides useful introductions to topics and definitions.

An index to artworks available to view online from museum websites. Search by artist to view a list of museums and galleries.

Freely available sources

Beazley Archive - from the Beazley Archive Classical Art Research Center at Oxford, specialises in images of ancient figure decorated pottery.

CLAROS - allows simultaneous searching of major collections in university research institutes and museums.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum - catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world.

Perseus Art & Archaeology - images of ancient coins, buildings, vases, gems, sculpture, and sites.

Contact Us