A-Z of Online Resources - Online resources available to the University
A-Z of Classics Databases - Online resources available to the University filtered to Classics only
Library Catalogue - Find books articles and Journals available from the library
Journals A-Z - Search and browse the journals available from the library
Remember that you need to reference everything you use in your work. See the box below for general advice, or use the Classics Referencing Guide for detailed advice on how to reference classical sources.
Année Philologique - This is the core bibliographical tool for finding journal articles and book chapters for classics, classical archaeology and ancient history. If you need help with this database, there is a tutorial guide as well as a list of journal abbreviations in use.
Brill's New Jacoby - This is one of the most authoritative resources for the study of fragmentary ancient Greek historians.
Brill's New Pauly - An encyclopedia devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe.
Clavis Clavium - Clavis clavium is an integrated reference database and collaborative update platform to open up Patristic, Medieval and Byzantine texts
De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families - An online encyclopedia focused on the rulers of the Roman Empire.
Grove Art Online - An art database covering art and artists throughout history including the classical period.
JSTOR - provides access to scholarly book, journal and primary sources via an easy to use search interface.
Literary Encyclopedia - biographies of writers, scholarly descriptions of texts and critical essays
Oxford Bibliographies - Classics - Provides overviews of key topics, people and places in the ancient world.
Oxford Classical Dicitonary - Provides overviews and articles on a variety of subjects covering the ancient world.
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization - Provides overviews and articles on a variety of subjects covering the ancient world.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature - Covers the classical world and its literary heritage.
Perseus Collection Greek and Roman Materials - Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites - Encyclopedia covering archeological sites from across the classical world.
ACLS Humanities eBook Collection - Has a large collection of eBooks on the ancient world.
Brill's Companions to Classical Studies - A series of handbooks covering key authors and subjects from antiquity
Cambridge Ancient History - Covers ancient history from Prehistory up to 600 AD
Cambridge Classical Studies - Covering all aspects of classical learning: literature, philosophy, history and archaeology.
Cambridge Companions to the Ancient World - A series of books examining important topics in the history and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome
Cambridge Histories - Ancient History & Classical Studies - covers topics from all parts of classical studies
Impact of Empire - A series of books covering the Roman empire from 200 BC to 476 AD
Key Themes in Ancient History A series of books covering Key Themes in Ancient History
Mnemosyne Supplements - covers all aspects of the Ancient World
Oxford Classical Studies - Over 600 eBooks covering classical studies
Oxford Handbooks on Classical Studies - Over 30 books providing an comprehensive overviews on topics in Classical Studies
Religions in the Graeco-Roman World - Covers religion across the Graeco-Roman World
Studies in Ancient Medicine - The series covers the medical traditions of ancient civilizations.
We have developed a separate Subject Guide for Latin Language Resources available here: Latin Language Resources Libguide
EThOS Access to over 500,000 theses from across the United Kingdom
OpenDOAR - Directory of open access repositories
ORE - Open Research Exeter: University of Exeter repository
ProQuest Dissertaions & Theses Global - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities.
You can use the following catalogues to search for material held at other libraries:
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Contact Us or Give Feedback