Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classics and Ancient History Subject Guide: Latin Language Resources

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

Latin Language Resources

Welcome to the Latin Language Resources Page

Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services for latin language resources.

Oxford Latin Dictionary

You can access The Oxford Latin Dictionary through Oxford Scholarly Editions Online as a widget when looking at Latin texts on Oxford Scholarly Editions: https://www.oxfordscholarlyeditions.com/page/the-oxford-latin-dictionary

Video Guide on how to use the Oxford Latin Dictionary

 

You can also access electronic copies of the Oxford Pocket Dictionaries for Latin:

Library of Latin Texts

Library of Latin Texts Series A - LLT-A

Library of Latin Texts Series B - LLT-B

The LLT­-A is the world’s leading database for Latin texts, offering texts from the beginnings of Latin literature down to the present day.

The LLT-B is a supplemental database to LLT-A, it covers Latin texts of all genres and all periods not in LLT-A. It include materials as varied as letter collections, liturgical documents, chronicles, medieval saints’ lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the modern period.

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online

Oxford Scholarly Editions Classics includes texts from major Latin authors including Latin text, translations and additional notes.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae

The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is the largest Latin dictionary in the world and covers Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.

Loeb Classical Library

The Loeb Classical Library has over 500 volumes of Latin and Greek texts.

 

Contact Us