Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theology: effective library research for dissertations: Other research databases

Online support to assist with planning and conducting your library dissertation research

Other research databases

JSTOR is a valuable research resource for secondary resources.  You can use it to search and find the full text of published books and journal articles.

Use the How to Search JSTOR LibGuide for an introduction to the service, or take a look at JSTOR's Vimeo channel for instructional videos.

Top Tip: Use the Advanced search option if you want to focus your searching to a particular subject area.

Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas.

You can use it to discover the global literature on a wide range of topics.  It is not a full text database, but you can use it to discover published material and follow links through to discover the full text available on other services.

The Philosopher's Index database is available via the EBSCO platform.

It is an academic research database covering the published literature in Philosophy and related disciplines. Watch the video tour to familiarise yourself with this search service.

JSTOR Understanding King James Bible

The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of the King James Bible to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about it — line by line.

Users simply click next to any line of text and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.

Explore the collection here.

 

Here is an example from Matthew

There are 31 articles within JSTOR with reference to the first line, click on the number to access the articles quoting the line.

 

 

Contact Us