What is a database? 
Research databases enable you to see what has been published in the area you are researching. They contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings. These records usually include the article title, authors, abstract (a brief summary), keywords (to enable your search to find it) and more.
Why should I use a database?
There are many different databases. Their interfaces will all vary, and they may use different terminology.
However, they all have similar features. Once you are familiar with these, you'll be able to find your way around different databases. You can see the main features in the examples below.
This is what a standard database interface looks like:
Once you click the Search button, the results page appears:
It is important to note:
So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step.
After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online. Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.
In some cases, material you want to consult may not be available to you at Exeter. You will be using vast literature databases which feature many millions of resources from around the world.
You can use the Request an item form to request access to material not held by the library, or you can use Library Hub Discover to locate materials in other libraries that you may wish to visit.
If you plan to use other libraries you can use the SCONUL Access scheme which allows university library users to access study spaces, books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme.
Databases provide access to scholarly research, including journal articles, conference proceedings and books.
These are some of the key databases for Theology:
Other databases that might be of interest include:
This is the key database for theology and religion.
ATLA Religion is an index to scholarly literature in theology and religion, and consists of journal articles, essays and book reviews. Topics covered include biblical studies, world religions and religious studies, church history, religion & social issues, theology, philosophy and ethics.
This collection provides some full text content, while other full text content can be accessed via links (where items are held in our collection).
See the video below for help using ATLA.
Alternatively, you can use the database worksheet on the next tab to practice using the database.
You can download this database worksheet to help you practice using ATLA Religion database.
Subjects covered in this collection include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Content is in the form of academic journal articles, book reviews, magazines and newspapers.
This database is available on the EBSCO platform, so searching will be the same as ATLA. Watch the EBSCO videos for further help.
This is a database of abstracts on theological and religious subjects. You can search by keyword or bible citation.
JSTOR is a valuable research resource for secondary resources. You can use it to search and find the full text of published books and journal articles.
Use the How to Search JSTOR LibGuide for an introduction to the service, or take a look at JSTOR's Vimeo channel for instructional videos.
Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas.
You can use it to discover the global literature on a wide range of topics. It is not a full text database, but you can use it to discover published material and follow links through to discover the full text available on other services.
The Philosopher's Index database is available via the EBSCO platform.
It is an academic research database covering the published literature in Philosophy and related disciplines. Watch the video tour to familiarise yourself with this search service.
JSTOR Understanding King James Bible
The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of the King James Bible to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about it — line by line.
Users simply click next to any line of text and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.
Explore the collection here.
Here is an example from Matthew
There are 31 articles within JSTOR with reference to the first line, click on the number to access the articles quoting the line.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
