Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Renewable Energy Effective Library Research: 3. Where should I look?

Develop your knowledge of the library research tools by working through the Library Search and database information.

Library Search Demos

Activity

A-Z Databases Activities

Requesting resources to collect at the Penryn Campus

New video coming soon! If you need any advice in the meantime please get in touch.

 

Once you have decided what sort of research materials you want to work with, you can choose the best research tool to help you find that material. There are two Library Research tools that will help you find material. These are Library search and the A-Z database list.

 

 

Library Search

Library Search

A search for 'renewable energy' in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts.

This search finds matches in book and journal titles.  For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases

.

 

To check our access to a specific journal search the catalogue using the title information. This will allow you to see if we have access to the journal and the years / volumes available.

Here is an example of a search for the journal Renewable Energy.

A search for 'wind turbines AND blades' in Library Search Articles + more returns the following results. 

In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles that match your search terms.

 

An Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

 

Library Search Activity

Try some searches using Library Search http://encore.exeter.ac.uk

Keywords

Run some searches for these topics and look at your catalogue and Article+More results

  • "fuel cells"
  • wind farms AND planning 
  • wave energy AND cornwall 

Journal Titles 

Find and look at a specific journal article from a recent issue of one of these journals

  • Renewable Energy: an international journal
  • Journal of Renewable & Sustainable Energy
  • Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews 

Your choice

Choose and run your own searches for material on Library Search 

eBooks

Find and take a look at the full text of one of these titles

  • Beggs / Energy, management and conservation 
  • Thomsen / Offshore wind: a comprehensive guide 
  • Kaltschmitt / Renewable energy systems 

 

 

 

A- Z Databases

Library Search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

To find databases, use the A-Z list. See the next tab for help with finding the best databases for your topic.

Each entry in the A-Z database list has an information icon. Hover over that symbol for information about the content that is available in the database and an idea of why it might be useful for research purposes. Shown below is the information for Environment Complete, which is a valuable research database.

You can scroll through the A-Z and choose a database if you know exactly what you are looking for.

Alternatively, you can select your subject from the drop down subject menu to see a subset of resources in that category.

The subject listings will highlight the 'core resources'; these are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area.

I'm looking for...

 

Research material can be drawn from a wide range of different types of information. Some key specialist Renewable Energy resources are highlighted in the following tabs.

To find out about further resources visit the Searching for specific types of information libguide

The University has a subscription to the British Standards Online (BSOL) database. In addition to British Standards, you can access ASTM, ISO, CEN, CENELEC and IEC on BSOL.

You can find out more about Standards in general from the Standards LibGuide 

We have extensive access to map resources through our Digimap collections. They provides online access to contemporary, historical, topographic, thematic maps and more. To explore our map collections take a look at the maps Libguide.

Searching library resources at the Penryn Campus

To search the full range of print and online resources available through the University of Exeter always use Exeter Library Search

Watch this video for guidance on how to search library resources as a Penryn campus student

 

Contact Us