LibGuides: Exeter Maths School: Key UoE online resources

Visitors to Forum, Old, Penryn and St Luke's (Haighton) libraries

Visitors

Members of the public can use the Forum library for reference use only, free of charge, during staffed hours.

Alumni and other registered external visitors can also use St Luke's Haighton library. A swipe card is required for entry to St Luke's Haighton library.

Visitors to Penryn Campus Library.

Visiting hours

Visitors should use the library during staffed hours which are currently:

9.00 - 6.00 Monday to Friday at Forum library

10.00 - 6.00 Saturdays to Sundays at Forum library

10.00 - 4.00 Monday to Friday at St Luke's Library (Haighton)

9.00 - 6.00 Monday to Friday at Old Library (enquiries to staff at Forum library)

Visitor guidelines

Please seek help at the enquiry desk or use our online chat.

Get in touch in advance

Please email library@exeter.ac.uk in advance of your visit if you have any special requirements.

Key Maths and Science databases

The University of Exeter subscribes to a number of Maths and Science research databases.

These databases allow you to search the worldwide literature on a subject. They provide details of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and research reports. Some publications require subscriptions to access the content as they are not freely available to the public.

You can access these databases by visiting the Forum Library and registering as a Walk-In user and using the dedicated Walk-In Access PCs.

Key maths databases available via walk-in access

Key databases for Maths

Research databases allow you to search the literature that has been published on a specific subject and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you find information relating to your field of research. Each research database has different content within its collections and many are international in their scope.

Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new window Bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields.
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017. CIS was developed by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and the American Statistical Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window Research literature database with abstracts, covering the field of mathematics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.

Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new window Bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields.
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017. CIS was developed by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and the American Statistical Association.

Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields, covering publications from 1975 onwards. It is produced by the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.

JSTOR provides access to scholarly book, journal and primary sources via an easy to use search interface.

Use the How to Search JSTOR LibGuide for a general introduction to the service. The Mathematics & Statistics Resources on JSTOR guide will introduce you to the content available in this area. Mathematics & Statistics is a growing area of content on JSTOR and journals in this area come from prestigious societies and organizations such as the American Statistical Association, & the Institute of Mathematical Statistics

JSTOR also has a Vimeo channel for educational and instructional videos. The following video shows you how to use ebooks on the JSTOR service.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window Research literature database with abstracts, covering the field of mathematics.

MathSciNet is produced by AMS (American Mathematical Society) and is the authoritative gateway to the scholarly literature of mathematics.

Use the QuickStart guide if you are new to this resources. This has lots of hints and tips to help you search effectively. You can also use the Help Index and FAQ sections for guidance.

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.

SCOPUS is a large bibliographic database. The content is multidisciplinary and covers all subject areas not just mathematics so can be useful for investigating subjects that span maths, statistics and related areas.

SCOPUS have produced a series of tutorials to help you get started. They can be accessed here.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.

Web of Science is a large bibliographic database. The content is multidisciplinary and covers all subject areas not just mathematics so can be useful for investigating subjects that span maths, statistics and related areas.

You can find help on how to use this collection here.

Use the A-Z Database List to access the full list of databases the library subscribes to.

You can browse by subject e.g. Maths or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window An online service for off-air recording, media streaming and archiving of TV and radio programmes from all scheduled free to air broadcast channels. BoB provides a facility for recording, creating clips and playlists of programmes.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an extensive archive of free-to-air TV programmes and radio shows

Search the archive to find programmes relating to your subject
Record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and add to the archive for others to view
Create your own clips and playlists

Key science databases available via walk-in access

Key databases for Computer Science

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) publications and literature, with a bibliographic search. Content includes journals, transactions, conference proceedings, newsletters etc and spans from 1969 onwards.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to IEEE journals, conference proceedings and industry publications.
Supports literature searching across engineering and technology disciplines.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Research literature database with abstracts, covering the field of mathematics.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content, primarily covering science, technology, and medicine, but also including some social science and humanities subjects - notably, business & management, accounting, finance and economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.

Key databases for Engineering

ICE Virtual Library Archive This link opens in a new window
Database of ICE journals, conference proceedings and industry publications, providing access to civil engineering literature.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to IEEE journals, conference proceedings and industry publications.
Supports literature searching across engineering and technology disciplines.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a technical information database for engineers and scientists.
It provides handbooks, technical and general reference works, and data books as well as best practice guidance, process and design applications, interactive graphs and tables of material and substance properties data, and equations for engineering disciplines.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.

undefined

Key databases for Physics

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to IEEE journals, conference proceedings and industry publications.
Supports literature searching across engineering and technology disciplines.
Institute of Physics archives This link opens in a new window
Access to the Institute of Physics Journal Archives .
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content, primarily covering science, technology, and medicine, but also including some social science and humanities subjects - notably, business & management, accounting, finance and economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.

Walk-in access to e-resources

We try to make as much of our content as we can available to walk-in users. Walk-in users can search for content on our catalogue. Some content will not be available due to licensing agreements. Also, Walk-in users may find content on the catalogue that will not let them authenticate as walk-in users. To get round this there is a list of links that walk-in users can use from the Walk-in access PCs.

A-Z for Walk-in users

Top Tip:
Not all databases provide full-text access to a document. For example, indexes tend to just include the bibliographic details and a brief description of the document or abstract rather than the document itself. In some cases, you may need to click on a hyperlink that takes you elsewhere to access the full text.