LibGuides: Get to know your legal sources: 4. Databases

How to use the A-Z Databases Listing

Legal Databases

Legal research has been transformed by the availability of sophisticated online search services. Not only can you quickly and easily access the full text of key cases, journals, legislation etc. but you can also explore the law in context by viewing a case, commentary and related legislation, all at a click of a button.

Building your research skills in the major legal databases will support your studies and also equip you with research skills you can transfer into the work environment

Activities

Ensure you can login to Lexis & Westlaw
Explore the databases. Support Guides are available to help you with access and searching
During the course of your studies, it is recommended that you complete the legal skills training and online certification for Lexis and Westlaw

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window Online legal research tool offering access to extensive UK and global legal information. It provides full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and articles in legal journals, plus an online version of Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents and Halsbury’s Laws of England. Also provides access to Lexis International materials and Practical Guidance - previously available as Lexis PSL.
alternative off campus link
Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window Online legal research tool providing full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and articles in legal journals, plus the legal journals index and many commentary and looseleaf works, including the Sweet & Maxwell Common Law Library titles.

Lexis and Westlaw Support Guides

i-law.com

i-law.com is a useful database for many LLM programmes and for commercial law research. Subject Coverage includes:

- Dispute Resolution
- Insurance & reinsurance
- Maritime & Commercial

Other Databases

Many more databases are available to you. For more information on all the legal databases available to you take a look at the Legal Databases Guide.

This guide introduces you to a range of journal, sucject specific and jurisdictoion specific databases that will be useful throughout your studies.