LibGuides: Searching Ovid Databases: Home

Ovid is an advanced search platform allowing you to perform sophisticated literature searches. The Ovid platform provides access to a number of different research databases (some of which are also available on other platforms e.g. EBSCO). It is good practice to search each database individually. Searching more than one database at a time will disable the thesaurus feature and is not advisable for comprehensive systematic searching.

The following databases are available via Ovid:

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering psychology and related disciplines.
APA PsycExtra This link opens in a new window
APA PsycExtra is a psychological gray literature database. Content includes research reports, conference abstracts and presentations, newsletters, reports, magazines, brochure/fact sheets, and more.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Extensive bibliographic database covering psychology and related disciplines.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly literature in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences, including aspects of human health and nutrition.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological research databases
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Literature relating to global public health issues. Useful for research into national and international public health topics.
HMIC This link opens in a new window
Healthcare management research database covering health policy, quality and safety, management and administration.
Medline Ovid This link opens in a new window
Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research.
Social Policy and Practice This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based social science research database for policy-makers and practitioners within health and social care.